as of Monday, July 21, 2014 11:54 PM.

NASCAR - Camping World Truck - 1800CarCash Mudsummer Classic Preview

Date: Wednesday, July 23

Start Time: 9 p.m. ET

Site: Eldora Speedway -- Rossburg, Ohio

Track: 0.5-mile high-banked clay oval

Laps: 150 (segment 1 - 60/segment 2 - 50/segment 3 - 40)

Miles: 75

Capacity: 17,782 plus grass hillsides

Total purse:


Year: 2nd

On TV: FOX Sports 1


On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Austin Dillon, 2013 (67.401 mph)

Qualifying record: Ken Schrader, 2013 (91.329 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Austin Dillon

Runner up: Kyle Larson

Pole winner: Ken Schrader (91.329 mph)

Top 10:

1. Austin Dillon (Start: 19)

2. Kyle Larson (13)

3. Ryan Newman (10)

4. Joey Coulter (11)

5. Brendan Gaughan (8)

6. Timothy Peters (3)

7. Darrell Wallace Jr (17)

8. Matt Crafton (7)

9. Dave Blaney (6)

10. Max Gresham (14)

Average speed: 67.401 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 8 mins., 6 secs.

Margin of victory: 1.197 secs.

Caution flags: 6 for 30 laps

Lead changes: 5 among 4 drivers

Past winners

2013 Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 67.401 mph

Last race

Race: American Ethanol 200 (July 11)

Site: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa

Miles: 175

Laps: 200

Finish line order: Erik Jones, Ryan Blaney, Matt Crafton, Joey Coulter, German Quiroga

Time of Race: 1 hr., 35 mins., 5 secs.

Average speed: 110.429 mph

Margin of victory: 0.629 secs.

Caution flags: 4 for 19 laps

Lead changes: 6 among 4 drivers

Lap leaders: Wallace Jr 1-41, Eggleston 42-43, Jones 44-103, Blaney 104-128, Wallace Jr 1-41, Eggleston 42-43, Jones 44-103, Blaney 104-128, Jones 129-183, Blaney 184, Jones 185-200.

Entry list

#00 Ken Schrader (Fenton, MO) Toyota/Federated Auto Parts

#0 To Be Announced RAM/Koma Unwind Relaxation Drink

#02 Tyler Young (Midland, TX) Chevrolet/RandCo/Young's Building

#2 * Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/American Ethanol

#03 Michael Affarano (Shorewood, IL) Chevrolet/Won-N-Done

#3 Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#05 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#6 Norm Benning (Level Green, PA) Chevrolet/TBA

#07 To Be Announced Chevrolet/TBA

#08 Korbin Forrister (Cedartown, GA) Chevrolet/TBA

#8 John Hunter Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#9 Chase Pistone (Cornelius, NC) Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) RAM/Koma Unwind Relaxation Drink

#13 Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA) Toyota/Estes/Carolina Nut

#14 Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA) Chevrolet/TMC Transports

#17 Timothy Peters (Providence, NC) Toyota/Red Horse Racing

#19 Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) Ford/Broken Bow Records

#20 Gray Gaulding (Colonial Heights, VA) Chevrolet/Gemini Southern

#21 Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

#29 Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Cooper Standard

#30 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA) Chevrolet/Exide

#31 Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL) Chevrolet/

#32 Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) Chevrolet/Glad

#35 Mason Mingus (Brentwood, TN) Toyota/Call 811

#50 T.J. Bell (Reno, NV) Chevrolet/Electrical Linemen

#51 Erik Jones (Byron, MI) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#54 Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#63 J.R. Heffner (Stephentown, NY) Chevrolet/TBA

#77 German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico) Toyota/Net 10 Wireless

#80 Jody Knowles (Tryone, GA) Ford/Clayton Signs

#82 Cody Erickson (Ulen, MN) Chevrolet/Performance Auto

#88 Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA) Toyota/Menard's/Ideal Door

#98 Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI) Toyota/Smokey Mountain Snuff

#99 Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

Leading contenders

Name 2013
Austin Dillon Won
Kyle Larson 2
Joey Coulter 4
Timothy Peters 6
Darrell Wallace Jr. 7
Matt Crafton 8
Ken Schrader 14
Ryan Blaney 15
Ty Dillon 16
Jeb Burton 18
German Quiroga 20
Ron Hornaday Jr. 29
Johnny Sauter 30
Erik Jones ---


The 1-800-CarCash Mudsummer Classic at Eldora Speedway is the 10th race on the 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Eldora Speedway is a half-mile dirt racing facility in Rossburg, Ohio, which is roughly 120 miles northeast of Indianapolis Motor Speedway, where the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series will compete this coming weekend.

Three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart is the owner of Eldora Speedway. Stewart purchased the track from the previous owner, Earl Baltes, in 2004. Baltes built Eldora in 1954 and had been the sole proprietor of the facility since it opened.

The track has 24 degrees of banking in all of its turns and 8 degrees of banking on the straights.

Eldora has hosted some of the largest dirt racing events in the country, including the Prelude to the Dream, Dirt Late Model Dream, Kings Royal and World 100.

One year ago, the inaugural MudSummer Classic at Eldora marked the first time a NASCAR national touring series race was contested on dirt since Sept. 30, 1970, an event held at the one-mile State Fairgrounds Speedway in Raleigh, North Carolina and won by Richard Petty.

Austin Dillon won the maiden truck race at Eldora in 2013. Dillon, who had competed in his first truck race since winning the series championship in 2011, charged through field after starting 19th and took the lead from Kyle Larson on lap 89. He held off Larson at the finish by 1.2 seconds.

Qualifying and race procedures for Eldora is different than any other event on the Truck Series schedule. Dirt tracks have historically used a format much different than the typical races on asphalt/concrete tracks. This event will feature a traditional two-lap qualifying session, five qualifying races (10 laps each), one last-chance race (15 laps) and a champion's provisional to determine the 30-truck starting field. The top-20 in owners' points entering the Mudsummer Classic will have a guaranteed starting position.

The feature race (Mudsummer Classic) will be a total of 150 laps, divided into three segments of 60-50-40 laps. There are competition cautions at the breaks on lap 60 and lap 110. Caution laps will not count during the competition cautions, and positions cannot be improved on pit road. Teams are not required to pit during the competition cautions. Those teams that do not elect to pit may remain on the track and start in front of the pitting teams.

The next race is the Aug. 2 Pocono Mountains 150 at Pocono Raceway. Ryan Blaney won last year's event there.

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television