Fraser: All about Schenn's hit on Sidney Crosby

Kerry Fraser
4/2/2012 2:52:49 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry Fraser wants to answer your emails at!

During the final minutes of the Flyers-Penguins game, Steve Sullivan ripped a shot top shelf past Bobrovsky and the goal was missed due to the velocity of the shot coming out of the net. As the play continued, Brayden Schenn crosschecked Sidney Crosby and a minor penalty was delayed until further review showed the puck crossed the line.

The average hockey fan understands that the clock resets to the time the goal was scored and any play after is null in void, even if the Flyers would have scored. What I am unsure of, is how much of a penalty can just be ignored, as in Schenn's case? In this example, the two minute minor was washed out, but what if a fight broke out or a major boarding incident occurred?

Would the fighters be allowed to remain in the play the next face off, and would the offender of a boarding major be allowed to remain in the game?


Scott Swaga


Kerry, I was wondering about the non-call in the Penguins/Flyers game yesterday where Brayden Schenn crosschecked Sidney Crosby after the whistle while heading back to the bench. It was explained on TV that a penalty can not be called on the same play that a goal is scored on. I can see the delayed penalty being wiped out after the score but this was a flagrant and well after the goal and whistle. Should it not have been considered a separate play and thus it may have avoided the problems that arose on the next shift? Does this mean that if there is a fight after a goal then no penalties can be called, or just a power play can't be awarded?

Doesn't seem right to me, your insight would be great.

Brian Secord


Mr. Fraser,

I miss your hair. It's a shame they made you cover up that glorious coif with a helmet toward the end of your illustrious career.

In yesterday's Pens-Flyers game, an apparent goal was scored by the Pens which went undetected by the on-ice officials and play resumed. After the eventual whistle, Brayden Schenn took a penalty on Sidney Crosby which was nullified by the goal because the time after the goal was called and up to the whistle technically didn't happen. This seems dangerous to me. If Schenn knew for a fact that the goal was scored and the time would be taken back, it essentially gives him free reign to penalize anyone he wants any way he sees fit.

Does the rulebook provide any recourse for an official to call a penalty during 'lost time?' If so, why do you think they reneged on the call? To get really technical, the penalty happened after the whistle and wasn't during the actual time that was put back on the clock. Shouldn't Schenn still have been penalized?

Thanks for keeping the dream alive!

Matty J.

Scott, Brian and Matty:

We can find the answer to each of your questions in Rule 78.6 - video review:

"When a team scores an apparent goal that is not seen by the on-ice officials and play continues, the play shall be reviewed by the Video Goal Judge at the next stoppage of play. If the goal is confirmed by video review, the clock (including penalty time clocks, if applicable) is re-set to the time the goal was scored…(cont'd) Any penalties signaled during the period of time between the apparent goal and the next stoppage of play shall be assessed in the normal manner, except when a minor penalty is to be assessed to the team scored upon, and is therefore nullified by the scoring of the goal...

**If an infraction happens after the first stoppage of play following an apparent goal (infraction after the whistle) by either team, it is assessed and served in the normal manner regardless as to the decision rendered by the Video Goal Judge."

Following the undetected goal (video link here) by Steve Sullivan play continued. The puck was eventually shot down the ice by the Flyers for a delayed icing as players from both teams skated to the bench for a line change. It was at this point and prior to the icing being completed (whistle had not yet blown) that Brayden Shenn gave Sidney Crosby a short cross-check/shove from behind knocking the Penguin Captain to the ice worthy of a minor penalty in front of the Flyers bench. The referee observed the infraction and signaled a delayed penalty. (Given the circumstance of the cross-check I would have also added a misconduct penalty to Schenn for inciting since it was not relative to a battle or part of a play; late; from behind; Crosby on line change and unsuspecting of the contact.)

The appropriate protocol was followed by the referee(s) on the ice. Brayden Shenn was placed in the penalty box as the play was being reviewed to determine the legitimacy of a potentially undetected goal. When the goal scored by Sullivan was confirmed, the penalty to Schenn was nullified since it had occurred prior to the stoppage of play for icing.

The rule is very specific stating that any infraction worthy of a minor penalty which is committed after play is stopped following the scoring of a goal is to be assessed in the normal manner. This is designed to deter players from taking liberties once they have been scored upon. Of course if the infraction is deemed worthy of a major or match penalty it would be assessed regardless of whether it had occurred prior to or after play was stopped. Additionally misconduct penalties are to be assessed and served.

I have assessed several penalties during my career to players committing an infraction after a goal has been scored. These usually occurred in the goal crease area when a defensive player punched or cross-checked his opponent in frustration after being scored upon. A coach was never happy with his player when a lack of discipline such as this forced the team to kill a penalty immediately after being scored upon.

The temperature is turned up with one more regular season game between the Flyers and Penguins to be played on the final day of the regular season.  This will be another tune-up for their probable matchup in the first round. These are the kind of games and series that I relished working. Expect more energy, emotion and battles in the games ahead.

For a personally autographed copy of Final Call from TSN hockey analyst and former NHL referee Kerry Fraser, visit The Book Keeper website.

For a regular copy of Final Call from TSN hockey analyst and former NHL referee Kerry Fraser, visit here.

Kerry Fraser

Kerry Fraser

Kerry Fraser is an analyst for the NHL on TSN and That's Hockey 2Nite on TSN2. As one of the league's most recognizable senior referees, he's worked 1,904 NHL regular season games and 261 playoff games during his 37-year career.

Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry wants to answer your emails at!

You can also follow Kerry Fraser on Twitter at @kfraserthecall!

Follow Us!

There's a new Twitter feed that will make you a real insider! Follow to get updates on the latest blogs, best videos and more!

More about TSN on Twitter...

Cabbie on

New York-bred hip hop artist Action Bronson discusses his friendship with Kevin Love, his jumpshot, Mike Napoli's beard, obscure sports references and Derek Jeter's Brand Jordan commercial. More...

He has speed in his DNA, learn more about Olympic champion Donovan Bailey's nephew, Jaden and his success on the gridiron in the latest Powerade 24. More...

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television