TSN TV Schedule TSN2 TV Schedule
Blogs

Fraser: The 'missed slashing call' on Boston's Chara

Kerry Fraser
11/25/2013 12:27:49 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry wants to answer your emails at cmonref@tsn.ca!

Hi Kerry - Seeing as this game was broadcast nationally (U.S.) you're likely to hear a bunch about it: With 2:30 left in the 2nd period on Saturday afternoon in Boston, Jiri Tlusty of the Hurricanes beat Bruins captain Zdeno Chara up the ice on a fast-break and had a clear breakaway on Bruins goaltender Chad Johnson - Chara then reached around and chopped down on Tlusty's stick from behind just as he was going into his shooting motion, causing the stick to snap in two. No call was made on the play. We've seen slashing calls made when players simply drop their sticks - what's your assessment? Why the no-call?
 
Thanks Kerry!
Tyler in Phoenix.
 
Tyler:

The overriding factor for a slashing penalty to be assessed is defined in rule 61 as "a forceful or powerful chop with the stick". The referee must determine if (in his judgment) the "chop" was of sufficient force to cause the stick to break or if in fact the stick broke "accidentally" through some potential defect. We have seen composite graphite sticks that break with very minimal contact.

Why no call you asked? In this case the referee must have determined that the downward chop by Zdeno Chara was not forceful or powerful enough to cause the stick of Jiri Tlusty to break as he was about to trigger a shot on a clear breakaway.

Now let me provide my assessment on the play. Zdeno Chara is really a strong man; perhaps the strongest I ever encountered in my 30 season in the NHL. Given the force 'Big Z' generated with the downward chop of his stick (particularly at the finish) it is most reasonable to assume Jiri Tlusty's stick broke as a result. A penalty shot should have been assessed to restore Tlusty's lost scoring opportunity.

Whenever a player is on a clear breakaway (no player to pass except the goalkeeper) a referee must be extremely alert to any potential foul from behind that would cause any loss of a reasonable scoring opportunity. A hook, trip or even a push from behind that causes the attacker to miss his scoring opportunity must be rewarded with a penalty shot.

Just as Jiri Tlusty was in motion to shoot the puck Zdeno Chara made a swing with his stick in desperation from a position well behind the shooter. Clear contact was made above the blade of Tlusty's stick resulting in a clean snap of the shaft and ultimately the loss of a scoring opportunity.

I have called penalty shots for much less!

Kerry Fraser

Kerry Fraser


Kerry Fraser is an analyst for the NHL on TSN and That's Hockey 2Nite on TSN2. As one of the league's most recognizable senior referees, he's worked 1,904 NHL regular season games and 261 playoff games during his 37-year career.


Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry wants to answer your emails at cmonref@tsn.ca!


You can also follow Kerry Fraser on Twitter at @kfraserthecall!

Follow Us!

There's a new Twitter feed that will make you a real TSN.ca insider! Follow twitter.com/TSN_Sports_Buzz to get updates on the latest blogs, best videos and more!


More about TSN on Twitter...



Cabbie on TSN.ca

Check out Cabbie's unique take on sports broadcasting and interviewing, poking fun at sports headlines, high-profile athletes and sports personalities. More...


Brendan Shanahan's niece Brenna is an 18-year-old lacrosse player from Mimico, Ontario, who has earned a scholarship to Division 1 Canisius College. More...

Podcasts

TSN 690 - The Montreal Forum - Hall of Famer Larry Robinson

Hall of Fame defenseman and Sharks assistant coach Larry Robinson joined Simon and Sergio to discuss Joe Thornton being removed as Sharks captain.

TSN 690 - The Montreal Forum - Sergio Momesso talks fights

Habs analyst Sergio Momesso spoke about his classic fights against Mark Tinordi and Joey Kocur. An absolute can't miss listen.

TSN 690 - MELNICK IN THE AFTERNOON - Former NHL GM Craig Button

Former NHL GM Craig Button joined Conor McKenna to discuss the latest goings-on in the NHL.


More Podcasts

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television