Hockey Canada

Canadian women ready to open Four Nations Cup in Finland

{eot} Staff
11/2/2012 11:34:21 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

KERAVA, Finland - Canada's national women's team has arrived in Finland for the 2012 Four Nations Cup, taking place Nov. 6-10 in Kerava and Tikkurila.

Canada looks to reclaim the gold medal after suffering a 4-3 shootout loss to the United States in the gold medal game at the 2011 Four Nations Cup in Nyköping, Sweden. Canada last won the Four Nations Cup in 2010, defeating the U.S. 3-2 in overtime. 

Before the puck drops on the 17th annual tournament, Canada will take on Finland in an exhibition game on Sunday at Helsinki Arena.

The 2012 Four Nations Cup kicks off Tuesday with Canada playing Finland and Sweden playing the United States.

Canada's roster for the 2012 Four Nations Cup is made up of 23 players, including three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards, who were selected following Canada's National Women's Team September Camp/Fall Festival, which took place  Sept. 22-29 in Calgary, Alta.

The 2012 Four Nations Cup will bring together four top women's hockey countries in the world - Canada, Finland, Sweden and the United States. Canada's National Women's Team has won the gold medal at the event 12 times, and has claimed silver on four occasions.

The 2012 Four Nations Cup will serve as an evaluation opportunity for Canada's National Women's Team coaching staff and Hockey Canada scouting staff for the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey Women's World Championship in Ottawa, Ont., and 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

Hockey (Photo: Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)


(Photo: Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television