Century Club

On the occasion of the Saskatchewan Roughriders' 100th anniversary, the best players, head coach and general manager in franchise history are honoured with TSN's All-Roughriders Team, as chosen by Rob Vanstone of the Regina Leader-Post.


Special Teams


Dave Ridgway (1982-95) - 'Robokicker' converted on 78% of his field goal attempts over a 14-year career. The six-time CFL All-Star kicked a league-record eight field goals in a game twice and held the record for the longest field goal (60 yards) until 2001. He ranks first in franchise points (2,374), field goals (574) and converts (541). The player who made 'The Kick' to win the 1989 Grey Cup was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 2003.


Ken Clark (1980-83) - Clark did his best to punt the ball out of Taylor Field every time he laced up his boots. The native of England averaged more than 47 yards in his last three seasons in Green and White and still holds the team record for the longest punt at an incredible 101 yards. He was the last Riders punter to be named a CFL All-Star, in 1982.


Corey Holmes (2001-05, 2007) - The Mississippi native holds the team record for kick return yards (4,077), punt return yards (3,440) and punt return touchdowns (5). In 2005, he registered 3,455 combined yards, the third highest total all-time for a single season. The following campaign, he was traded to the Hamilton Tiger-Cats but returned in 2007. He was voted the league's Most Outstanding Special Teams Player twice.

Front Office


Eagle Keys (1964-70) - The two-time Grey Cup champion as a player in Montreal and Edmonton joined the Riders as an assistant coach in 1964. The following year, he took over as head coach and led the team to a Grey Cup title in 1966. He would get to two more Grey Cup games, being named CFL Coach of the Year in 1968. He holds the franchise mark in wins (144), including 14 in 1970, and was inducted to the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1990.


Ken Preston (1958-1977) - The 'Dean of General Managers' started his career with the Riders as a player and coach in the 1940s. Over his 20 years as general manager, the Riders made the playoffs 15 times and appeared in five Grey Cup games, winning it all in 1966. The Smith's Falls, Ontario native also set up a minor football program in Saskatchewan. He was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Saskatchewan Roughriders - First 100 Years was used as a source in this feature. Click here to buy it.

Images for all players, Eagle Keys and Ken Preston are courtesy of the Regina Leader-Post.

CFL Feature

CFL on TSN analyst Paul LaPolice opens his playbook and breaks down key plays from each week's games. More...

Ask the Panel!

The CFL on TSN panel is all set to answer your football questions!

Send your question on Twitter to @CFLonTSN using the hashtag #AskThePanel.

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television