The Gibson's Finest CFL Player Awards were voted on by 62 voting members, including representation from the Football Reporters of Canada from the eight CFL markets, a national chapter and the CFL head coaches. The 2011 awards were presented on Thursday Nov. 24, 2011 in Vancouver B.C.

Voters were asked to select players who, through on-field excellence, best represent the awards' title: Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

Most Outstanding Player - QB Travis Lulay - B.C. Lions

In his first full season as the Lions starting quarterback, Travis Lulay led his team to a first place finish in the CFL West. Lulay threw for 4,815 yards and tied for the league lead with 32 touchdown passes against just 11 interceptions during the regular season. The dynamic Montana State product also picked up 391 yards and three touchdowns along the ground.
2011 Stats
Comp Att % Yards TD INT Rating
342 583 58.7 4,815 32* 11 95.8
East Nominee: QB Anthony Calvillo - Montreal Alouettes
2010 Winner: QB Henry Burris - Calgary Stampeders

Most Outstanding Canadian - RB Jerome Messam - Edmonton Eskimos

Messam had a breakout year in 2011 rushing for 1,057 yards and six touchdowns for the Eskimos this season. The Toronto native is the the first Canadian running back to finish with more than 1,00 yards rushing in a season since Sean Millington in 2000. He also added 27 receptions for 248 yards. In just his second season, Messam was also voted a CFL All-Star.
2011 Stats
Att Yards Avg TD Rec Yards TD
195 1,057 5.4 6 27 248 0
East Nominee: K/P Sean Whyte - Montreal Alouettes
2010 Winner: SB Andy Fantuz - Saskatchewan Roughriders

Most Outstanding Defensive Player - DB Jovon Johnson - Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Jovon Johnson had a career year in 2011 finishing the season with a league-leading eight interceptions, two of which he took back for touchdowns. Johnson also piled up 55 tackles and five pass knockdowns. He was the anchor for a defensive secondary that ranked first in the CFL in pass yards allowed, opponent completion percentage and interceptions.
2011 Stats
TKL Sacks Ints Yards Long TD KD
55 0 8* 104 67 2* 5
West Nominee: LB Jerrell Freeman - Saskatchewan Roughriders
2010 Winner: LB Markeith Knowlton - Hamilton Tiger-Cats

Most Outstanding Special Teams Player - K/P Paul McCallum - B.C. Lions

A 19-year CFL veteran, McCallum had a record setting year in 2011hitting 50-of-53 field goal attempts for a CFL single season record completion percentange of 94.3. He also connected on 30 consecutive field goals at one point during the season to break the previous record of 28 held by Dave Ridgway. McCallum led the CFL in scoring with 203 points and also added 123 punts for 5,183 yards.
2011 Stats
FG Made FG Att % Pts Punts Avg Net Avg
50* 53 94.3** 203* 123 42.1 35.3
East Nominee: KR Chad Owens - Toronto Argonauts
2010 Winner: KR Chad Owens - Toronto Argonauts

Most Outstanding Lineman - OL Josh Bourke - Montreal Alouettes

Bourke anchored a Montreal Alouettes offensive line that allowed the second fewest quarterback sacks in the CFL with 34. Bourke also helped the Alouettes finish the season with the most passing yards and third most rushing yards in the CFL. The Als left tackle was also named a CFL All-Star.
2011 Team Stats
Sacks Allowed Rush Yards Pass Yards Rush TD Pass TD
34 2,006 5,562* 16 33*
West Nominee: OL Jovan Olafioye - B.C. Lions
2010 Winner: OL Ben Archibald - Calgary Stampeders

Most Outstanding Rookie - WR Chris Williams - Hamilton Tiger-Cats

In his first season in the CFL, Williams led the Ticats with 1,064 receving yards and six touchdowns on 70 receptions. The first-year star was also called upon to return kicks on occasion returning 12 punts for 81 yards and 12 kickoffs for 252 yards including a 93-yard touchdown. He was also voted as the CFL's fastest player in the 2011 CFL on TSN player poll.
2011 Stats
Rec Yards Avg Long TD
70 1,064 15.2 71 6
West Nominee: LB JC Sherritt - Edmonton Eskimos
2010 Winner: LB Solomon Elimimian - B.C. Lions

*Led CFL

**CFL Record

Player Awards Finalists and Team Nominees

CFL Feature

CFL on TSN analyst Paul LaPolice opens his playbook and breaks down key plays from each week's games. More...

Ask the Panel!

The CFL on TSN panel is all set to answer your football questions!

Send your question on Twitter to @CFLonTSN using the hashtag #AskThePanel.

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television