Calvillo, Burris among nominees for Most Outstanding Player

The Canadian Press
11/3/2010 1:45:51 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

TORONTO -- Anthony Calvillo is in the running for a third straight CFL outstanding player award.

The Montreal Alouettes quarterback was a unanimous selection as his team's finalist for the honour in voting conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada and CFL head coaches. Calvillo has captured the award the last two seasons and three times over his 17-year career.

Calvillo, 38, has guided the defending Grey Cup champions to top spot in the East Division with an 12-5 record. Calvillo is third overall in passing with 4,839 yards, second in TD strikes (32) and has thrown just seven interceptions, a low among league starters.

The other East Division nominees announced Wednesday include Toronto Argonauts tailback Cory Boyd (league-high 1,359 yards rushing), Winnipeg Blue Bombers receiver Terrence Edwards (league-best 1,325 yards) and Hamilton Tiger-Cats quarterback Kevin Glenn (fourth overall in passing with 4,817 yards).

Quarterback Henry Burris, who led the Calgary Stampeders to top spot in the West Division, was also a unanimous selection for the award. Burris is second in passing (4,890 yards) but also has a league-best 37 TD strikes.

Also nominated in the West Division were B.C. Lions kicker Paul McCallum, Saskatchewan Roughriders quarterback Darian Durant and Edmonton Eskimos receiver Fred Stamps.

The division nominees will be announced Nov. 11, with the award winners unveiled Nov. 25 in Edmonton.

Montreal slotback Ben Cahoon, twice the CFL's top Canadian, was named his team's nominee this year. Hamilton receiver Dave Stala (unanimous), Toronto linebacker Kevin Eiben (unanimous) and Winnipeg defensive tackle Doug Brown were also named.

Saskatchewan slotback Andy Fantuz was a unanimous selection in the West Division, as was Calgary running back Jon Cornish and McCallum with tailback Calvin McCarty being named Edmonton's nominee.

Winnipeg defensive end Phillip Hunt, the CFL sacks leader with 16, was a unanimous selection for top defensive player as were Montreal defensive back Chip Cox and Hamilton linebacker Markeith Knowlton. Also nominated were Toronto defensive end Ron Flemons.

Saskatchewan defensive back James Patrick, who has a CFL-high nine interceptions, headlines the West Division nominees. Also named were Calgary linebacker Juwan Simpson, B.C. defensive back Korey Banks and Edmonton defensive back T.J. Hill.

Toronto's Chad Owens, the CFL leader in punt, kickoff and missed field goal returns, was a unanimous selection for outstanding special-teams player. Also nominated were Hamilton's Marcus Thigpen, Montreal's Michael Giffin and Winnipeg's Jovon Johnson.

Calgary punter Burke Dales, Saskatchewan punter-kicker Eddie Johnson, B.C. returner Yonus Davis and Edmonton's Tim St. Pierre are the West nominees.

Toronto tackle Rob Murphy, twice the CFL's outstanding lineman, was a unanimous selection for the award, as were Hamilton centre Marwan Hage and Winnipeg guard Brendon LaBatte. Montreal's nominee was tackle Josh Bourke.

Calgary tackle Ben Archibald and B.C.'s Jovan Olafioye were unanimous picks in the West Division. Also nominated were Edmonton's Aaron Fiacconi and Saskatchewan's Jeremy O'Day.

Defensive end Shomari Williams, the top pick in this year's CFL Canadian college draft, was a unanimous selection for top rookie. Calgary offensive lineman Edwin Harrison, Edmonton tailback Daniel Porter and linebacker Solomon Elimimian were also nominated.

Toronto defensive back Evan McCollough, Montreal linebacker Marc-Olivier Brouillette, Thigpen and Winnipeg offensive lineman Andre Douglas were the East Division nominees.

Anthony Calvillo  (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CFL Feature

CFL on TSN analyst Paul LaPolice opens his playbook and breaks down key plays from each week's games. More...

Ask the Panel!

The CFL on TSN panel is all set to answer your football questions!

Send your question on Twitter to @CFLonTSN using the hashtag #AskThePanel.

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television