Matthews heads up Canadian Football Hall of Fame class

{eot} Staff
2/10/2011 11:39:07 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Danny McManus, Terry Vaughn, Joe Montford and Don Matthews are among the newest inductees to the Canadian Football Hall of Fame.

They are joined by Chris Flynn, Ken Lehmann and Gino Fracas (posthumously).

McManus played 17 seasons in the league with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, BC Lions, Edmonton Eskimos, Hamilton Tiger-Cats, and Calgary Stampeders. He won three Grey Cups with three different teams. His first came in his rookie season with the Blue Bombers in 1990 while his second came in 1994 with the Lions after taking over for injured starting QB Kent Austin at halftime. McManus' third Grey Cup was won in 1999 with the Tiger-Cats. He also won the Most Outstanding Player Award, was named a CFL All-Star, and set Ticat records for yards passing, attempts, completions, and touchdown passes that year.

In 2002, McManus threw for over 4,000 yards for the eighth consecutive season, a CFL record at the time.

McManus was second all-time in passing yards with 53,255 when he retired. He also holds several records for the Ticats including most career passing yards (33,841), most career pass attempts (4,257), most career pass completions (2,368), and most career touchdown passes (164).
Terry Vaughn was the first receiver in the CFL to have over 1,000 career catches. At the time of his retirement, Vaughn was second overall 1,006 catches. In his 12-year career, Vaughn played for the Calgary Stampeders, the Eskimos, the Montreal Alouettes, and the Tiger-Cats.

The import receiver would be named a Western All-Star for six consecutive seasons and a CFL All-Star three times. He would be a part of two Grey Cup-winning teams - the Stampeders in 1998 and the Eskimos in 2003.

Vaughn owns a number of Eskimos team records including most receptions in a single season with 106, set in 2003.

Joe Montford's career began in 1995 but he really started to carve out a Hall of Fame career in 1996 with the Tiger-Cats. He was named the CFL's Most Outstanding Defensive Player in 1998 with 21 sacks and six forced fumbles. The non-import played a large role in helping the Ticats win the Grey Cup in 1999, racking up a league-leading 26 sacks. A year later, Montford set a CFL record with three consecutive seasons with a minimum of 20 sacks.

Montford would win one more Grey Cup late in his career as a member of the Eskimos.

Don Matthews started his coaching career with the Eskimos in the late 70s and helped the team to five consecutive Grey Cup titles (1978-82) as the defensive coordinator.

Matthews would move on to become head coach of the Lions where he would win his first Grey Cup as head coach in 1985, also earning Coach of the Year honours.

Matthews' won his second Grey Cup as a head coach with the Baltimore Stallions in 1995, the same year he became the sixth head coach to record 100 regular season wins.

He coached the Toronto Argonauts to back-to-back Grey Cups in 1996 and 1997 on his way to breaking Frank Clair's record for most regular season coaching wins at 147.

Matthews would also coach the Alouettes to a Grey Cup victory in 2002, while being named Coach of the Year for the fifth time.

At the time of his retirement, Matthews held the record for both most victories by a head coach with 231, and most Grey Cup victories with five.

Chris Flynn was the quarterback for the Saint Mary's Huskies from 1987-1990. He led Saint Mary's to a 27-2 regular season record and captured four AUAA championships with the team. Flynn also made two Vanier Cup appearances with the Huskies.

Flynn was named an AUAA All-Star four times, a CIAU (now CIS) All-Canadian three times, and a three-time Hec Crighton award winner. Flynn still holds the CIAU records for most TD passes in a season and a career.

Ken Lehmann played for the Ottawa Rough Riders from 1964 to 1971. Lehmann played in three Grey Cups with the Rough Riders and won two (1968, 1969). He was a five-time Eastern All-Star and a four-time All-Canadian.

In 1968 Lehmann won the Schenleys Most Outstanding Lineman Award.

Gino Fracas began his coaching career at the University of Alberta in 1963 and became the first coach in University of Windsor history in 1967. Fracas coached the Lancers to the CCIFC Championship in 1969 and an OUAA Championship in 1975. He was named the OUAA Coach of the Year in both 1976 and 1977.

Fracas became an inaugural member of the Ontario University Athletics Football Legends Wall of Fame as a player, coach, and administrator.

In 1987 Fracas was awarded the Football Canada/CFL Award of Merit for outstanding lifetime contribution to football in Canada and he has been inducted into six different halls of fame in total.

Don Matthews (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CFL Feature

CFL on TSN analyst Paul LaPolice opens his playbook and breaks down key plays from each week's games. More...

Ask the Panel!

The CFL on TSN panel is all set to answer your football questions!

Send your question on Twitter to @CFLonTSN using the hashtag #AskThePanel.

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television