Eskimos slotback Peterson named CFL's top Canadian

The Canadian Press
11/20/2008 9:39:35 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

MONTREAL - Edmonton Eskimos slotback Kamau Peterson has captured his first-ever CFL top Canadian award.

Peterson received the honour Thursday night at the league's awards banquet. Montreal Alouettes slotback Ben Cahoon, a two-time top Canadian recipient, was the finalist.

Voting for the award was conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada as well as the eight CFL head coaches.

It's ironic that both Peterson and Cahoon were finalists for the award despite being American born. However, each is recognized as a non-import - or Canadian - by the CFL for having grown up in Canada.

Peterson becomes the Eskimos first outstanding player winner since 2002 when rush end Elfrid Payton was named the league's top defensive player.

Peterson became a go-to receiver for Edmonton's Ricky Ray, finishing with 101 catches for 1,317 yards and four touchdowns. The eight-year veteran also stepped up for the Eskimos after veteran Jason Tucker suffered a season-ending neck injury in August.

Peterson, who recently signed a two-year contract extension with Edmonton became just the fourth receiver in club history to record more than 100 catches in a season, joining the likes of Terry Vaughn (106 in '03), Craig Ellis (106 in '90) and Brian Kelly (104 in 1983).

Cahoon also had a stellar campaign, recording a CFL-high 107 catches for 1,231 yards and seven TDs. Montreal defeated Edmonton 36-26 last weekend in the East Division final and will host Calgary in the Grey Cup game Sunday at Olympic Stadium.

Kamau Peterson (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CFL Feature

CFL on TSN analyst Paul LaPolice opens his playbook and breaks down key plays from each week's games. More...

Ask the Panel!

The CFL on TSN panel is all set to answer your football questions!

Send your question on Twitter to @CFLonTSN using the hashtag #AskThePanel.

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television