Riders mark centennial with honours for 3 Grey Cup champs

The Canadian Press
6/17/2010 5:48:10 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

REGINA -- The Saskatchewan Roughriders have drawn upon the greatest moments in the franchise's history for this year's inductees into the club's Plaza of Honor.

But instead of selecting an individual player, the club announced Thursday that it will recognize the Grey Cup championship Rider teams of 1966, 1989 and 2007.

President Jim Hopson says it's a good way to celebrate the team's centennial.

"I mean how do you pick out three players from 100 years of history, especially when so many of the greats are already in the plaza," said Hopson.

"I think it's really fitting. Those three teams have been celebrated ... since they each won the Grey Cup."

Legendary fullback George Reed, a member of the '66 championship team, says the players were happy to win the championship and had no way of knowing that it would continue to resonate with fans throughout the years.

Reed says he can't think of a better way to mark the centennial.

"I think it's very special because we were the first team to bring a Grey Cup to Saskatchewan and to have all the guys be able to say that they're on the Plaza of Honor out there I think is very appropriate and very rewarding, especially this year being the 100th year of the Roughriders," said Reed, who was inducted in 1987.

"I think it's very important for all three Grey Cup teams. That's what the fans live for, something that they can put their chest out and brag about across Canada."

The Plaza of Honor induction dinner is set for October 15. The cairn honouring the Plaza of Honor inductees is outside the main gates on the west side of Mosaic Stadium.

Saskatchewan Roughriders (Photo: CFL)


(Photo: CFL)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CFL Feature

CFL on TSN analyst Paul LaPolice opens his playbook and breaks down key plays from each week's games. More...

Ask the Panel!

The CFL on TSN panel is all set to answer your football questions!

Send your question on Twitter to @CFLonTSN using the hashtag #AskThePanel.

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television