The Rouge: Who is most deserving of Coach of the Year?

Ben Fisher,
2/27/2013 3:42:34 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Five of the league's major yearly awards were handed out during Grey Cup Week in November. One was saved for late February.

The CFL Coach of the Year will be awarded Thursday, with two first-year bench bosses in the running, joined by a veteran head coach of five seasons.

The Toronto Argonauts' Scott Milanovich, BC Lions' Mike Benevides, and Calgary Stampeders' John Hufnagel are the finalists for Coach of the Year, and with the achievements they added to their resumes this season, a case could be made for any one of them.

Let's make those cases!

Milanovich came over from the Montreal Alouettes after five years under the mentorship of Marc Trestman to lead the Argos to a historic win in the 100th Grey Cup in their own backyard.

Benevides took over from future Hall of Famer Wally Buono in a seamless transition, leading the Lions to their second consecutive West Division title.

And Hufnagel, despite losing his starting quarterback Drew Tate to injury in the second game of the season, guided Calgary to the 100th Grey Cup with backup Kevin Glenn at the helm.

Before we thoroughly delve into the 2013 season, let's look back at the 100th Grey Cup season one last time, and hand out some hardware.

The Rouge asks: Who should be named the 2012 Coach of the Year? You've heard what we've had to say, now it's your turn.

As always, it's Your! Call.

John Hufnagel Scott Milanovich Mike Benevides (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CFL Feature

CFL on TSN analyst Paul LaPolice opens his playbook and breaks down key plays from each week's games. More...

Ask the Panel!

The CFL on TSN panel is all set to answer your football questions!

Send your question on Twitter to @CFLonTSN using the hashtag #AskThePanel.

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television