Mississauga St. Michael's Majors to host 2011 Memorial Cup

The Canadian Press
5/10/2010 1:13:31 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. -- The St. Michael's Majors will play in the Memorial Cup for the first time since 1961 when Mississauga, Ont., hosts the hockey tournament in 2011.

The OHL announced Monday that Mississauga won the bid for the 2011 Memorial Cup ahead of the Barrie Colts, Kingston Frontenacs and Windsor Spitfires.

The Memorial Cup is the championship tournament of the Ontario, Western and Quebec major junior hockey leagues, which operate under the umbrella of the Canadian Hockey League. The host team has received an automatic berth in the tournament, established in 1919, since 1983.

The Majors played in five Memorial Cups and won four of them between 1934 and 1961 before ceasing operations in '61.

The team was resurrected in 1996 at St. Michael's College School in Toronto and then purchased by alumnus Eugene Melnyk, who also owns the NHL's Ottawa Senators, in 2001.

Melnyk relocated the franchise to a larger arena in Mississauga in 2007 after the OHL's IceDogs moved to St. Catharines, Ont.

The Memorial Cup rotates each year between the OHL, WHL and QMJHL. The WHL's Brandon Wheat Kings host this year's tournament starting Friday.

The 2011 site selection committee comprised Toronto Blue Jays president Paul Beeston, former NHL executive Frank Bonello, NHL senior vice-president Jim Gregory and director of NHL Central Scouting E.J. McGuire. Committee chair Gord Kirke and OHL commissioner David Branch were non-voting members of the committee.

Mississauga St. Michaels Majors (Photo: TSN)


(Photo: TSN)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television