TSN TV Schedule TSN2 TV Schedule

Franchise Faceoff

If you were starting an NHL franchise of your own, who is the one player you would select as your cornerstone?

Would it be a top-notch goal scorer or a two-way forward? Would you opt for pure skill or is leadership ability more important?

That's Hockey has selected 31 options for your consideration this summer. They are matched up in a head-to-head single elimination bracket style tournament and it's up to you to crown the champ.

On That's Hockey, we'll roll out the day's match-up and our two panellists will debate and make the case for the player they would select. You can then cast your vote on TSN.ca and the results will be revealed on the next episode of That's Hockey before the next match.

For an added element of surprise, the TSN Quizmaster is watching and can veto your final vote - once in Round 1, once and Round 2 and a single Round 3 challenge which would trigger a re-vote.

Keep the debate going and join the conversation on #TSN on Twitter and follow the TSN Quizmaster at @TSNQuizmaster!

Gabriel Landeskog

Left Wing - Colorado Avalanche

Nathan MacKinnon

Centre - Colorado Avalanche

The Latest Showdown

Today's Franchise Faceoff match-up pits two of Patrick Roy's weapons of choice against one another: Gabriel Landeskog vs. Nathan MacKinnon.

There's a reason Gabriel Landeskog was named the youngest captain in NHL history. The 2012 Calder Trophy winner scored a career-high 26 goals and 65 points in 2013-14, just his third year in the League. He already has a World Championship gold on his resume and was a part of the Swedish team that came home from the Sochi Games with silver. And he's still just 21.

Prior to the 2013 NHL Draft there was some question as to whether MacKinnon would go first overall. He obliterated any doubts the Avalanche may have had with his rookie campaign, notching 63 points and all but seven first-place votes for a Calder of his own. He scored a hat trick to clinch the 2013 Memorial Cup for the Halifax Mooseheads. Who knows what he'll do for the Avs?

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television