TSN TV Schedule TSN2 TV Schedule

Taylor, Whitaker among Gibson's Finest CFL Players of Week

The Canadian Press
7/10/2012 12:54:33 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

TORONTO -- Larry Taylor, who amassed a club-record 441 all-purpose yards in the Calgary Stampeders' 39-36 road loss to the Toronto Argonauts, was named the CFL's special-teams player of the week Tuesday.

Taylor's biggest play in the game was a 125-yard missed field goal return for a TD. He also had a catch for 13 yards, eight kickoff returns for 222 yards and returned two punts for 70 yards.

Taylor's 441 combined yards was the single-highest single-game total in CFL history behind the 474 yards registered by Winnipeg's Albert Johnson III in 2000.

Montreal tailback Brandon Whitaker was the offensive player of the week. Whitaker had 98 yards rushing and a TD and added 11 catches for 137 yards and two touchdowns in the Alouettes' 41-30 victory over Winnipeg.

B.C. linebacker Adam Bighill captured top defensive player honours. Bighill had nine tackles, one sack and a forced fumble in the Lions' 39-36 home win over the Hamilton Tiger-Cats.

Teammate Andrew Harris was the top Canadian. The Winnipeg native ran for 147 yards and a TD while adding two catches against Hamilton.

The awards are sponsored by Gibsons Finest.

Larry Taylor (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

Canadiens on TSN Radio 690

TSN 690 is home to every Canadiens game, with John Bartlett and Jessica Rusnak providing Habs Reports.

Habs Ice Chips | Latest on the Habs

 | GM 3: Sunday at 7pm | (TSN 690)
 | W 4-1 | Bourque: 2G | Subban: 22A

Impact on TSN Radio 690

TSN 690 is home to every Impact game with soccer expert Noel Butler providing coverage.

Latest on the Impact

 | Saturday at 8:30pm | (TSN 690)
 | D 1-1 | Amarikwa (54') | McInerney (43')

Alouettes on TSN Radio 690

Sean Campbell and Mitch Gallo cover the Als for TSN 690 and host the weekly show, "The Als This Week."

Alouettes Hashmarks | Latest on the Als

 | Free Agency Tracker
 | Canadian College Draft
TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television