Ole Miss quarterback Snead declares for NFL Draft

The Sports Network
1/7/2010 3:37:00 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Oxford, MS (Sports Network) - Ole Miss quarterback Jevan Snead has decided to bypass his senior season to enter the 2010 NFL Draft.

Snead threw for 2,632 yards and 20 touchdowns with 20 interceptions this past season for the Rebels, who finished 9-4 and beat Oklahoma State in the Cotton Bowl.

"After much prayer and deliberation, I have decided to forego my final year at Ole Miss and enter the NFL Draft," said Snead. "The fans, coaches and my teammates at Ole Miss have been unbelievable, and I want to thank them for an incredible experience. In the end, I had to do what is best for me and my family. Having finished my degree, I look forward to the challenge and hard work that comes with pursuing my dream of playing quarterback in the NFL."

Snead had a better statistical year in 2008, his first as a starter for Ole Miss, completing 56.3 percent of his passes for 2,762 yards with 26 touchdowns and just 13 interceptions. His 46 career touchdown passes are second only to Eli Manning's school record of 81.

"After long talks last night and this morning, we tried very hard to keep Jevan as an Ole Miss Rebel for one more year," said Ole Miss head coach Houston Nutt. "We want to thank Jevan for his outstanding play as our quarterback the last two years and wish him nothing but the best. We will be keeping up with him on the next level."

In Snead's two years under center, the Rebels experienced their most successful period in almost 40 years, posting back-to-back nine-win seasons for the first time since 1961-62 and consecutive January bowl victories for the first time since 1960-61.


Jevan Snead (Photo: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)


(Photo: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

NCAA Basketball Men's Final Four

The Connecticut Huskies surprised the field from the No. 7 seed to capture their fourth national championship men's title.

Full 2014 Tournament Bracket

Take The Tournament Challenge!

Heisman Watch

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston won the Heisman Trophy, becoming the youngest player to win college football's most prestigious individual honour. More...

Heisman Trophy Winners

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television