Walker, Fredette nominees for Wooden award

Associated Press
3/30/2011 2:00:49 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

LOS ANGELES -- Kemba Walker of Connecticut and Jimmer Fredette of BYU are among the 10 players picked to the John R. Wooden Award All-American men's team.

Stanford teammates Jeanette Pohlen and Nnemkadi Ogwumike and 2009 Wooden Award winner Maya Moore of UConn are among the five players picked to the women's team.

The top five men's finalists and all five women's finalists are invited to Los Angeles for the April 8 announcement of the Wooden Award winners as college basketball's players of the year.

Also on the men's team are Ben Hansbrough of Notre Dame, JaJuan Johnson of Purdue, Kawhi Leonard of San Diego State, Marcus Morris of Kansas, Jacob Pullen of Kansas State, Duke's Nolan Smith, Jared Sullinger of Ohio State and Arizona's Derrick Williams.

The other women's finalists are Gonzaga's Courtney Vandersloot and Baylor's Brittney Griner.

Kemba Walker (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

NCAA Basketball Men's Final Four

The Connecticut Huskies surprised the field from the No. 7 seed to capture their fourth national championship men's title.

Full 2014 Tournament Bracket

Take The Tournament Challenge!

Heisman Watch

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston won the Heisman Trophy, becoming the youngest player to win college football's most prestigious individual honour. More...

Heisman Trophy Winners

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television