Redskins QB Griffin, Patriots DE Jones rookies of the month

The Sports Network
10/4/2012 12:55:31 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

New York, NY (Sports Network) - Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III and New England Patriots defensive end Chandler Jones have been selected as the NFL's top rookies for the month of September.

Griffin, the second overall pick of the draft, won the offensive award. He led all rookies and ranked fourth in the NFL with a 103.2 passer rating after completing 69.4 percent of his throws for 1,070 yards with four touchdowns and one interception.

The Heisman Trophy winner from Baylor also rushed for 234 yards, the most for any quarterback during the month, and four touchdowns. He helped the Redskins to a 2-2 mark to start the season.

Jones, a first-round pick out of Syracuse, picked up the defensive honor. He led all NFL rookies with three sacks in September, adding 19 tackles and two forced fumbles for the 2-2 Patriots.

Others considered for the offensive award were Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck, the first overall pick of the draft who threw for 846 yards with five touchdowns in three games; Washington running back Alfred Morris, who led all rookies with 376 rushing yards and tied for the NFL lead with four rushing touchdowns; and Miami quarterback Ryan Tannehill, who threw for 1,046 yards with a pair of touchdowns.

Defensive nominees included Tennessee linebacker Zach Brown, who had 22 tackles, one sack and one forced fumble; and Tampa Bay linebacker Lavonte David, who led all NFL rookies with 33 tackles.

Robert Griffin III  (Photo: Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images)


(Photo: Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

2014 NFL Draft

The Houston Texans selected defensive end Jadeveon Clowney first overall in the 2014 NFL Draft.

Round-by-Round Picks: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

Hall Of Fame

Ray Guy, Derrick Brooks, Walter Jones, Michael Strahan, Andre Reed, and Aeneas Williams, headlined this year's Hall of Fame class. More...


TSN 1050: Game Night: Joe Horrigan - July 30

Pro Football Hall of Fame VP of Communications Joe Horrigan joined Game Night with Jim Tatti & Andy McNamara to talk NFL Hall of Fame Weekend

TSN 1050: The Bryan Hayes Show: July 28 - John Kryk

SunMedia NFL Columnist, John Kryk joined Bryan Hayes to discuss the potential of Manziel & EJ Manuel's struggles in camp.

TSN 1050: The Bryan Hayes Show: July 23 - Jim Trotter

ESPN NFL Analyst, Jim Trotter joined Bryan Hayes to discuss Tony Dungy's comments about Michael Sam, Brett Favre's Packers legacy & Johnny Manziel.

More Podcasts

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television