TSN TV Schedule TSN2 TV Schedule

Texans extend coach Kubiak, general manager Smith

The Sports Network
6/14/2012 11:42:25 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Houston, TX (Sports Network) - The Houston Texans have signed head coach Gary Kubiak and general manager Rick Smith to contract extensions.

Kubiak and Smith will each enter his seventh season with the franchise.

"I believe it is very important to have stability within an organization, and it starts with leadership," Texans owner Bob McNair said in a statement. "We now have all of our key executives and coaches under long-term contracts. I feel this action gives us stability going forward and positions us to have many successful seasons for the Houston Texans."

The Texans won the AFC South last year with a franchise-best mark of 10-6 and beat Cincinnati in the first round of the playoffs before losing to Baltimore. It was the first postseason berth in the 10-year history of the team.

Kubiak was entering the final year of a three-year contract he signed in 2010. He has guided the club to a record of 47-49 during his tenure.

"I pride myself on fulfilling contracts, not signing them," Kubiak said Thursday.

Smith has helped build a franchise that features 2009 NFL passing leader Matt Schaub, 2010 NFL rushing champion Arian Foster -- who signed a long-term contract in March -- and 2009 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Brian Cushing. He has also added depth, which last year helped the team withstand injuries to Schaub and backup quarterback Matt Leinart.

Late Wednesday, Smith and 2012 first-round pick Whitney Mercilus worked out a contract. Mercilus, a pass rusher from Illinois who led the NCAA with 16 sacks in 2011, was chosen with the 26th overall pick in April.

Gary Kubiak (Photo: Bob Levey/Getty Images)


(Photo: Bob Levey/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

2014 NFL Draft

The Houston Texans selected defensive end Jadeveon Clowney first overall in the 2014 NFL Draft.

Round-by-Round Picks: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

Hall Of Fame

Ray Guy, Derrick Brooks, Walter Jones, Michael Strahan, Andre Reed, and Aeneas Williams, headlined this year's Hall of Fame class. More...


TSN 1050 - Gameday: Matt Florjancic - July 6th

Matt Florjancic of WKYC Sports in Cleveland joined Andy McNamara to discuss the arrest of Josh Gordon, Johnny Manziel, and LeBron James.

TSN 1050: Game Night: Eric Macramella - June 18

TSN Radio Legal Analyst Eric Macramella joined Jim Tatti and Andy McNamara to talk Redskins and the trademark of the name being revoked.

TSN 1050: Latenight Gamenight - Andrew Garda

Andrew Garda joins Andy Mac to talk about the Kaepernick contract extension and other news around the NFL.

More Podcasts

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television