Proposed NHL Realignment

The National Hockey League Board of Governors approved a four-conference alignment format that would create two eight-team conferences and two seven-team conferences.

The move, however, was blocked by the NHL Players' Association - which maintains it is willing to work through it with the league.

Under the format, every team would play every other team outside its conference twice - once home, once away.

In the seven-team conferences, teams would play six times - three home, three away. In the eight-team conferences, teams would play either five or six times in a season on a rotating basis; three teams would play each other six times and four teams would play each other five times. This process would reverse each season: an eight-team conference member that plays an opponent six times in one season would play it five times the following season.

The top four teams in each conference qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs. The first-place team would play the fourth-place team; the second-place team would play the third-place team. The four respective conference champions would meet in the third round of the playoffs, with the survivors playing for the Stanley Cup.


Anaheim Ducks
Calgary Flames
Colorado Avalanche
Edmonton Oilers
Los Angeles Kings
Phoenix Coyotes
San Jose Sharks
Vancouver Canucks


Chicago Blackhawks
Columbus Blue Jackets
Dallas Stars
Detroit Red Wings
Minnesota Wild
Nashville Predators
St. Louis Blues
Winnipeg Jets


Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres
Florida Panthers
Montreal Canadiens
Ottawa Senators
Tampa Bay Lightning
Toronto Maple Leafs


Carolina Hurricanes
New Jersey Devils
New York Islanders
New York Rangers
Philadelphia Flyers
Pittsburgh Penguins
Washington Capitals

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television