Blackhawks' Kane wins Calder as NHL's top rookie

The Sports Network
6/12/2008 8:14:59 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Toronto, ON (Sports Network) - Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane was named the winner of the 2007-08 Calder Memorial Trophy as the best rookie in the NHL.

Kane won the award with 71 of 133 first-place votes and 1,078 points over teammate Jonathan Toews and Nick Backstrom of Washington. Kane tallied 21 goals and 51 assists in 82 games this season and led all rookies in total points.

This award was won by a Chicago player for the first time since goaltender Ed Belfour took it home in 1990-91. In fact, the last time a Blackhawk was a finalist for this award was in 1996, when Eric Daze finished in second behind Daniel Alfredsson.

Toews led NHL rookies in goals (24) despite missing five weeks of action with a knee injury, while Backstrom finished with 14 goals and 55 assists for the upstart Capitals.

Kane with the Calder Trophy (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

2014-15 NHL Preview

From The Hockey Insider

TSN's Bob McKenzie sets up the start of training camp, going one-on-one with the GMs from all seven Canadian teams.

WATCH: Bryan Murray - Ottawa Senators

WATCH: Dave Nonis - Toronto Maple Leafs

WATCH: Kevin Cheveldayoff - Winnipeg Jets

WATCH: Marc Bergevin - Montreal Canadiens

WATCH: Brad Treliving - Calgary Flames

WATCH: Craig MacTavish - Edmonton Oilers

WATCH: Jim Benning - Vancouver Canucks

TSN.ca previews what to expect out of the NHL's 30 teams as we count down to puck drop. Check daily for team previews and updates on each Canadian franchise leading up to Oct. 8.

Latest Preview: Colorado Avalanche

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television