20 NHL players elect to take their teams to salary arbitration

TSN.ca Staff
7/5/2009 8:48:06 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Wingers Nikolai Zherdev and Ryan Callahan of the New York Rangers were among 20 players who elected to take their teams to salary arbitration, the NHL Players' Association said Sunday.

The only other club to have two players go that route were the Phoenix Coyotes, who are set to have hearings with forwards Nigel Dawes and Daniel Winnik.

Joining them were defenceman James Wisniewski of the Anaheim Ducks; Thrashers winger Colby Armstrong; forward Matt Hunwick of the Boston Bruins; Buffalo left winger Clarke MacArthur; Carolina Hurricanes forward Tuomo Ruutu; defenceman Aaron Johnson of the Chicago Blackhawks; Columbus defenceman Marc Methot; Detroit winger Jiri Hudler; blue liner Denis Grebeshkov of the Edmonton Oilers; Minnesota center Kyle Brodziak; Montreal centre Tomas Plekanec; New Jersey Devils forward Travis Zajac; Islanders winger Nate Thompson; Lightning defenceman Matt Smaby; Canucks forward Kyle Wellwood; and Washington Capitals defenceman Milan Jurcina.
The deadline for teams to decide to take players to salary arbitration is Monday at 5pm et. Hearings will be held in Toronto from July 20 to August 4.

Nikolai Zherdev (Photo: Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)


(Photo: Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

2014-15 NHL Preview

From The Hockey Insider

TSN's Bob McKenzie sets up the start of training camp, going one-on-one with the GMs from all seven Canadian teams.

WATCH: Bryan Murray - Ottawa Senators

WATCH: Dave Nonis - Toronto Maple Leafs

WATCH: Kevin Cheveldayoff - Winnipeg Jets

WATCH: Marc Bergevin - Montreal Canadiens

WATCH: Brad Treliving - Calgary Flames

WATCH: Craig MacTavish - Edmonton Oilers

WATCH: Jim Benning - Vancouver Canucks

TSN.ca previews what to expect out of the NHL's 30 teams as we count down to puck drop. Check daily for team previews and updates on each Canadian franchise leading up to Oct. 8.

Latest Preview: Colorado Avalanche

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television