TSN TV Schedule TSN2 TV Schedule

Capitals part ways with Morrison, Walker, Corvo

The Sports Network
6/15/2010 4:37:56 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Washington, DC (Sports Network) - The Washington Capitals will not bring back forwards Brendan Morrison and Scott Walker, and defenseman Joe Corvo.

Morrison completed his 12th NHL season, and first with the Caps, registering 12 goals and 42 points in 74 games. He was held to a single assist in five playoff contests.

Walker split his 15th pro campaign with Carolina and Washington, connecting for five goals and eight points in 42 games. He was held scoreless in his lone playoff appearance.

Corvo was a late addition to the club in a trade-deadline deal with the Carolina Hurricanes, and recorded two goals with six points in 18 regular- season games along with a goal and one assist in seven playoff tilts.

Despite posting the best record, win total and point total in franchise history, and winning the President's Trophy as the team with the best record in the NHL, the Southeast Division champs were upset in the first round of the playoffs in seven games by the eighth-seeded Montreal Canadiens.

Brendan Morrison (Photo: Mitchell Layton/NHLI via Getty Images)


(Photo: Mitchell Layton/NHLI via Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television