Karlsson, Weber, Chara the finalists for Norris Trophy

TSN.ca Staff
4/26/2012 11:14:16 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators, Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins, and Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators have been named the finalists for the Norris Trophy, handed out to the top defenceman in the NHL.

Karlsson enjoyed a breakout season in helping the Ottawa Senators return to the playoffs. The third year pro led all defencemen in scoring with 19 goals and 78 points. He had 25 more points than his second closest competitiors, the Florida Panthers' Brian Campbell and the Winnipeg Jets' Dustin Byfuglien.

Chara, who won the Norris Trophy in the 2008-09 season, led all defencemen with a plus-33 ranking. The 35-year-old was fourth in defensive scoring with 12 goals and 52 points.

Weber, 26, helped the Predators to one of their best seasons in 2011-12, as they finished fourth in the Western Conference standings with 104 points. The seventh-year pro tied Karlsson for the lead league in goals by a defenceman with 19 and also finished with 49 points and a plus-21 rating.

The winner will be announced at the 2012 NHL Awards show on June 20.

Chara, Karlsson and Weber (Photo: TSN/The Canadian Press/Getty Images)


(Photo: TSN/The Canadian Press/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

TSN TweetBox

2014-15 NHL Preview

TSN.ca previews what to expect out of the NHL's 30 teams as we count down to puck drop. Check daily for team previews and updates on each Canadian franchise leading up to Oct. 8.

Latest Preview: Boston Bruins