MacKinnon, Johnson, Palat named Calder finalists

TSN.ca Staff
4/23/2014 11:24:42 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon and Tampa Bay Lightning forwards Tyler Johnson and Ondrej Palat have been named the finalists for the 2013-2014 Calder Memorial Trophy, given to the NHL's top rookie.

MacKinnon led all rookies in points with 63 and tied for the goal-scoring lead with 24 goals. H suited up in all 82 regular season games for the Avs.

This marks the third time in the past five years that an Avalanche player has been named a Calder finalist, with Gabriel Landeskog having won the award in 2012 and Matt Duchene having finished third in 2010.

Palat finished second in rookie scoring with 59 points in 81 games and finished one goal behind the goal-scoring lead amongst freshmen with 23.

Johnson tied MacKinnon for the goal-scoring lead while also playing a full 82-game schedule. His 50 points were good for third amongst NHL rookies.

This marks the first time two teammates have been among the Calder finalists since the Blackhawks' Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews both finished top-three in 2008. Palat and Johnson are the Lightning's first Calder finalists since Brad Richards finished second in voting in 2001.

Calder finalists (Photo: TSN.ca)


(Photo: TSN.ca)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television