Rublee wins at canoe/kayak trials, claims Olympic spot

Associated Press
5/6/2012 11:33:32 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

LAKE LANIER, Ga. -- Aaron Rublee won in a photo finish Sunday to capture the men's C1 200-metre race at the Canadian canoe/kayak national trials.

The paddler from Kamloops, B.C., finished in a time of 41.07 seconds. The result was good enough for a spot on the World Cup tour and for one of two wins needed for selection to the Canadian Olympic team.

Rublee won the race by 0.051 seconds over Jason McCoombs of Dartmouth, N.S. Richard Dalton of Halifax, who qualified the quota spot for Canada last October at the Pan American Games, was third in 41.37.

"I don't think I could have done much better," Rublee said.

Ottawa's Rhys Hill took the top spot in men's K1 200-metre race with a solid time of 35.97 seconds.

"I managed to hold on and cross the line in first so it was a success for me," Hill said. "It's looking good. We'll see if I'll race K1 or maybe K2 (at World Cups) depending on how that goes (Monday) but it's definitely building good confidence."

Richard Dober Jr. of Lachine, Que., was second behind Hill in 36.38 seconds, while and Ryan Cochrane of Windsor, N.S., was third in 36.44 seconds.

The injured Mark de Jonge did not compete at these trials but is scheduled to return for Olympic selection.

Canada has an Olympic quota spot in the men's K1 200-metre race that will be determined based on the results at a second national team trials event in Montreal in June.

Competition in 200-metre events is particularly high this year with the distance being included at the Olympics for the first time.

Genevieve Beauchesne-Sevigny of Trois Rivieres, Que., won the women's K1 200-metre race in a time of 45.18 seconds. Kathleen Fraser of Oakville, Ont., was just 0.001 seconds back. Emilie Fournel of Lachine, Que., finished 0.065 seconds off the pace.

World champions Laurence Vincent-Lapointe of Trois Rivieres and Mallorie Nicholson of Oakville competed in the women's C1 200-metre race. Vincent-Lapointe won the race in a time of 54.18 seconds with Nicholson 0.98 seconds behind.

The two will compete as teammates on Monday in C2 500-metre race where they will race for a time to meet international performance standards for consideration to the World Cup team.

Three crews raced off in the men's K4 1000-metre race. Rob Clarke of Oakville, Montreal's Philippe Duchesneau, Lyall Hatton of Bedford, N.S. and Halifax's Andrew Jessop won the race in a time of three minutes 13.07 seconds.

That time will be assessed against international performance standards to see if the crew will compete at World Cups. Canada's World Cup team will be named on Tuesday.

CanoeKayak Canada (Photo: CanoeKayak Canada)


(Photo: CanoeKayak Canada)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television