Olympics

Russian disallowed goal looms large in loss to United States

{eot}
TSN.ca Staff
2/15/2014 3:53:29 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

The United States' 3-2 victory over Russia in men's hockey on Saturday did not come without controversy.

With less than five minutes left in the third period, Russia appeared to take a 3-2 lead as defenceman Fedor Tyutin beat American goaltender Jonathan Quick on a point shot.

The goal, however, was disallowed after video review when it was ruled that the net was slightly off its mooring.

Following the game the IIHF released a statement, confirming that the right call had been made.

"Upon reviewing the goal, the net had clearly been displaced prior to the puck going into the net. According to Rule 471a article 5 - If the goal net has been displaced from its normal position, or the frame of the goal net is not completely flat on the ice.

"The IIHF referee supervisor Konstantin Komissarov confirmed that the ruling made by referees Brad Meier and Markus Vinnerborg was the correct call and that the proper procedure had been followed with regards to the video review."

Adding insult to injury for Tyutin of the Columbus Blue Jackets is the fact that his goal likely would have counted in the NHL under Rule 63.6.

"63.6 Awarded Goal - In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the normal position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal. In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player or goalkeeper, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts."

In this situation, the net was dislodged by Quick, meaning the referees could have awarded the goal in the NHL.

Though Quick denied knowing the net had moved, Russian star Alex Ovechkin said he believes that Quick should have been given a two-minute penalty for displacing the net once the decision had been made to disallow the goal.

Russian forward Ilya Kovalchuk said after the game that he hopes the two teams will meet again in the tournament and put the controversy behind them.

"There are rules, and everyone has to follow them. It wasn't something very bad, and I hope we will get a chance to play against them again."

Ovechkin with refs - Russia  (Photo: The Canadian Press)

zoom

(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story


© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television