TSN TV Schedule TSN2 TV Schedule

CONCACAF Champions League Playoffs

Toronto FC made history by becoming the first Canadian club to make the CONCACAF Club Semi-final in the competition's 40 year history. The team was unable to overcome a strong home-field performance by Santos Laguna, resulting in the fifth all-Mexican Final in the past seven years. Monterrey captured the championship with a 3-2 aggregate win over Santos Laguna.


Toronto FC Semifinal #1 Santos Laguna
Danny Koevermans, Toronto FC

Toronto FC stunned the reigning MLS Champion LA Galaxy to advance to the semifinals. After finishing second in Group C Toronto managed to top LA on the road and make the semis with a 3-2 aggregate victory. Toronto is the first Canadian team to advance to the semis since the tournament playoff format was adopted in 1996.

Like TFC, Santos Laguna is looking to make its first CONCACAF Finals appearance. After finishing first in Group B during the tournament's round-robin play, Santos erased a 2-1 deficit to the MLS' Seattle Sounders by thumping them 6-1 in their home leg of the aggregate quarter-final.

Leg 1 Recap -- Leg 2 Recap
Oribe Peralta, Santos Laguna

Teams 1 - Mar. 28 (Toronto) 2 - Apr. 4 (Torreon)
Toronto FC (CAN) 1 2
Santos Laguna (MEX) 1 6
Santos Laguna wins 7-3 on aggregate


Monterrey Semifinal #2 Pumas
Humberto Suazo, Monterrey

Monterrey is looking to become the first team to repeat as CONCACAF Champions since the advent of the Champions League in 2008. After topping Group D in round-robin play, they had little trouble with fellow Mexican side Morelia in the quarters, topping them 3-1 on the road before a 4-1 clincher at home.

Pumas enter the semifinal looking for their fourth CONCACAF title and first Finals appearance since 2005. Pumas finished one point ahead of TFC in Group C. They fell behind 2-1 to Honduran side Isidro Metapan before lighting them up for eight unanswered goals on their return to Mexico City.

Martin Bravo, Pumas

Teams 1 - Mar. 28 (Monterrey) 2 - Apr. 4 (Mexico City)
Monterrey (MEX) 3 1
Pumas (MEX) 0 1
Monterrey wins 4-1 on aggregate


Year Champion Runner-Up
2012* Monterrey (MEX) Santos Laguna (MEX)
2011* Monterrey (MEX) Real Salt Lake (USA)
2010* Pachuca (MEX) Cruz Azul (MEX)
2009* Atlante (MEX) Cruz Azul (MEX)
2008 Pachuca (MEX) Saprissa (CR)
2007 Pachuca (MEX) Guadalajara (MEX)
2006 America (MEX) Deportivo Toluca (MEX)
2005 Saprissa (CR) Pumas (MEX)
2004 Alajuelense (CR) Saprissa (CR)
2003 Deportivo Toluca (MEX) Monarcas Morelia (MEX)
2002 Pachuca (MEX) Monarcas Morelia (MEX)

* - Since 2009, the CONCACAF Champion has been determined by the winner of the Champions League competition. Prior to that, the winner of a smaller competition - The CONCACAF Cup - determined the regional champion.


TSN 1050: Game Night: Gareth Wheeler - July 30

Gareth Wheeler joined Jim Tatti & Andy McNamara on Game Night to recap Toronto FC's 3-0 loss to DC United and more news on TFC.

TSN 690: Montreal Impact Jopey Saputo Presser July 30th

Joey Saputo press conference annoucing Nick DeSantis is relieved of his duties as Sporting Director

TSN 690 oranges @ halftime July 29: Pat Leduc

Impact season of woes as the club get set for a major announcement from Joey Saputo tomorrow morning

More Podcasts

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television