Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry Fraser wants to answer your emails at email@example.com!
I love your column!
I was watching the Chicago at St. Louis game last night and a Blues player fired a slapper that rang off the post. The Ref clearly signaled "no goal" and play was allowed to continue. The announcers Pat Foley and Ed Olczyk however thought the shot went "in & out" and said so several times as the play resumed. After approximately 2 minutes a whistle finally stopped play and the replay clearly showed the Ref was correct and the announcers were wrong.
My question is this...What would happen in this instance if St. Louis scored (another) goal as play resumed and the replay showed it was preceded by an "in & out" goal? Would they get 2 goals?
Conversely, what if Chicago had scored as play was allowed to go on and it was determined the initial goal by St. Louis was a good "in & out" goal? What happens then?
Oh and in case you were wondering...Chicago won again 3-0!
Mark Stanley Rusin
Good for referee Chris Lee, who immediately made a waived off signal with 7:27 remaining in the second period when former Boston University Terrier defenceman Kevin Shattenkirk hit the goal post on the power play with Marcus Kruger in the box for holding David Perron. While the blast eluded my friend, Pat Foley's ever watchful eye, video review subsequently confirmed the accuracy of referee Lee's micro-second judgment when play was stopped.
Rule 78.6 — Video Review provides the answer to your question, Mark. Let me break it down in the short form when a team scores an apparent goal that is not seen by the on-ice officials and play continues.
- The play is reviewed at the next stoppage of play and, if the goal is confirmed, the clock is re-set to the time the goal was scored.
- Only one goal can be awarded at any stoppage of play. Only the first goal would be allowed so any subsequent goal scored would not count. It is important to note here, Mark, that if through video review, the first undetected goal was deemed to have been scored illegally (high stick, kick, glove etc.), then the second goal scored as play continued would also be disallowed. The rationale here is that play should have been stopped for the first disallowed goal. The clock would be reset to time of the first illegal/disallowed goal.
- Any penalties signaled during the period of time between the apparent goal and the next stoppage of play shall be assessed in the normal manner, except when a minor penalty is to be assessed to the team scored upon. The scoring of the goal would nullify the penalty. There is an exception made if an infraction happens after the first stoppage of play following an apparent goal (infraction after the whistle) by either team. It is assessed and served regardless as to the decision rendered by the video goal judge.
Mark, during the one-referee system, I had all of these scenarios apply on the same play in a game between the Rangers and Penguins in the Pittsburgh Igloo. NHL senior vice president of hockey operations Colin Campbell was coaching the NewYork Rangers and his team scored an undetected goal. Play continued for a considerable length of time until I raised my arm to assess a delayed penalty to a Ranger player who committed an infraction. During the delayed penalty, with Pens goalie removed for an extra attacker, Pittsburgh scored a sure goal.
There was cause to review the close play to determine if the Rangers had in fact put the puck in the net at the other end of the ice a minute or two previously. Sure enough, the video goal judge ruled that the puck had entered the net and the Rangers' goal would stand and the subsequent goal scored by the Penguins on the delayed penalty would be disallowed.
I then approached Campbell at the bench and said, "I have some good news and some bad news for you. The good news is your goal counts and theirs doesn't and we roll the time on the clock back to when your goal was scored. The bad news is you can put your penalty kill unit on the ice for the delayed penalty I was signaling at a time on the clock which no longer exists!"
Video review had just recently been implemented and it was the first time a situation like this had ever happened. Fortunately, I was somewhat prepared for the situation with at least a full knowledge of the rule. The first time scenario however left Colie and I both scratching our heads.
If my memory serves me correctly, the Penguins scored on the resulting power play.