TSN TV Schedule TSN2 TV Schedule

Mooseheads' Drouin named CHL player of the year

The Canadian Press
5/25/2013 7:42:54 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

SASKATOON -- Members of the Halifax Mooseheads won two trophies at the Canadian Hockey League awards ceremony on Saturday, but the title they really want is still one victory away.

Mooseheads forward Jonathan Douin was named the 2012-13 CHL player of the year, while head coach Dominique Ducharme took home coach of the year honours.

While both appreciated the recognition for a great season as Quebec Major Junior Hockey League champions, their focus quickly shifted to Sunday's MasterCard Memorial Cup final against the Portland Winterhawks of the Western Hockey League.

"The trophy I want is (on Sunday)," said Drouin, who had 41 goals and 64 assists in 49 games this season and is the No. 3 ranked North American skater ahead of next month's NHL draft. "That was our goal from the beginning of the year -- winning the Memorial Cup."

Drouin was quick to note that winning an award like player of the year includes a lot of help from others.

"There's a lot of good things (involved)," he said. "I didn't do it all myself. The coaching is part of it, the linemates are part of it so it's just a great year for everyone."

Ducharme was named as the CHL's top coach after leading the Mooseheads to a 58-6-4 record during the regular season.

"Coach of the year, I think it has a lot to do with the players, my staff, my assistants, the whole organization, so I see it as a team award," he said. "The only thing we thought about all year was winning every game."

Winterhawks defenceman Seth Jones, who is rated as the No. 1 North American skater by NHL Central Scouting, was named top prospect of the year.

Like Drouin and Ducharme, he says the award is nice, but his focus is on the Memorial Cup final.

"You work so hard all year, not necessarily for this trophy, but it's kind of a little side accomplishment," Jones said. "The real trophy is (Sunday)."

The other award winners announced were: Tyler Graovac of the Belleville Bulls (sportsman of the year), Brenden Leipsic and Nicolas Petan, both of the Winterhawks (top scorer of the year), Ben Fanelli of the Kitchener Rangers (humanitarian of the year), Josh Morrissey of the Prince Albert Raiders (scholastic player of the year), Valentin Zykov of the Baie-Comeau Drakkar (rookie of the year), Patrik Bartosak of the Red Deer Rebels (goaltender of the year) and Ryan Sproul of the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (defenceman of the year).

Jonathan Drouin (Photo: Richard Wolowicz/Getty Images)


(Photo: Richard Wolowicz/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

Cabbie on TSN.ca

The Latest: As Hollywood's largest star, Dwayne Johnson discusses Hercules the mythical character. Cabbie asks about the hours spent in the gym, Johnson's pet boa constrictors and the size of rock needed to make a life sized statue of the star. More...

Milos Raonic and Eugenie Bouchard are paving new ground for Canadian tennis and 17-year-old Francoise Abanda could be Canada's next breakout star. More...


TSN 1050: Macko & Cauz: July 31 - Ben Lindbergh

Grantland Staff Writer Ben Lindbergh joins Macko and Cauz this hour to discuss Jon Lester, the Blue Jays, and the Red Sox.

TSN 1050: Macko & Cauz: July 31 - Mike Richards

LA Kings Centre, and winner of the Memorial Cup, Calder Cup, Stanley Cup, World Juniors and Olympic Gold Mike Richards joins Macko & Cauz this hour.

TSN 1050: Macko & Cauz: July 31 - Hour 2

The second hour of Macko & Cauz on TSN 1050 Toronto. CBSSports.com NBA writer Zach Harper joins the show this hour to talk Cavs, Kevin Love, and more.

More Podcasts

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television