No suspension for Canucks' Torres after hit on Seabrook Staff

4/18/2011 7:51:06 PM

Vancouver Canucks forward Raffi Torres will have no further discipline assessed following his hit on Blackhawks' defenceman Brent Seabrook during Game 3 of their series on Sunday night.

There was no scheduled hearing with the league on Monday. The NHL's Hockey Operations department said that the rule did not violate Rule 48, which provides an interpretation that the area behind the net is designated as a "hitting area".

Torres caught Seabrook with a shoulder to the head during a collision behind Chicago's net midway through the second period. The Vancouver player was given an interference penalty on the play.

It was Torres' first game back after serving a four-game suspension for a similar hit on Edmonton's Jordan Eberle on Apr. 5. He missed the last two games of the regular season and the first two of the playoffs while serving that ban.

Vancouver leads the Western Conference quarter-final series 3-0, with Game 4 set for Tuesday night in Chicago.