Swarm's Sullivan named NLL head coach of the year

The Canadian Press

5/9/2012 4:20:54 PM

NEW YORK -- Joe Sullivan of the Minnesota Swarm has won the Les Bartley Award as the National Lacrosse League's coach of the year.

Sullivan took over the team after Mike Lines was fired in February following a 3-3 start.

In his rookie coaching year, Sullivan led Minnesota to a 6-4 finish and the first playoff win in the franchise's eight-year history.

Dave Pym of the Calgary Roughnecks and Bob Hamley of the Colorado Mammoth tied for second in voting for the award.

Minnesota plays the Edmonton Rush in the West Divisional final Saturday.