Chiasson, Avery win national titles at Marathon Championships

The Canadian Press

5/27/2012 9:30:04 PM

OTTAWA, Ont. -- Toronto's Rejean Chiasson and Lisa Avery of Orillia, Ont., were crowned national champions Sunday at the 2012 Canadian Marathon Championships.

Chiasson, who took bronze last month in the Canadian Half Marathon Championships, finished first in two hours 19 minutes 54 seconds.

Matt Leduc of Ajax, Ont., and Montreal's Fethi Oukid crossed the finish line in 2:27:47 and 2:28:00 respectively for silver and bronze.

Avery won national honours in the women's race in a time of 2:42:53, ahead of Toronto's Josiane Aboungono (2:47:42). Myriam Grenon of Longueuil, Que., rounded out the top three with bronze in 2:49:57.