Strong field in place for Capital One Canada Cup

CCA Release

11/5/2012 12:48:08 PM

The Canadian Curling Association's Season of Champions officially gets underway later this month with the Capital One Canada Cup, November 28-December 2 at Mosaic Place in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan.
The men's and women's winners will earn berths directly into the 2013 Tim Hortons Canadian Curling Trials Roar of the Rings, December 1-8 in Winnipeg, which will determine Canada's representatives at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.
The women's field comprises reigning Scotties Tournament of Hearts champion and Ford Worlds bronze medallist Heather Nedohin of Edmonton; defending Canada Cup (and two-time winner), four-time Scotties and 2008 world champion Jennifer Jones of Winnipeg; two-time Cup winner Stefanie Lawton of Saskatoon; 2003 Cup winner Sherry Middaugh of Coldwater, Ontario; Winnipeg's Cathy Overton-Clapham, a five-time Scotties winner, 2008 world and 2007 Canada Cup champion; 2011 Cup runner-up Chelsea Carey of Winnipeg and Crystal Webster of Calgary, a 2009 Pre-Trials event winner.
Jones qualified as the defending Cup champion, Nedohin qualified by winning last year's Scotties, while the balance did so from their standing on the 2011-12 Canadian Team Ranking System (CTRS).
The men's field boasts the reigning Tim Hortons Brier and world champion Glenn Howard of Coldwater, Ontario; 2010 Olympic gold medallist and record four-time Cup winner Kevin Martin of Edmonton; two-time world champion Jeff Stoughton of Winnipeg; 2010 Canadian and world champion Kevin Koe of Calgary; 2006 Olympic gold medallist Brad Gushue of St. John's; Mike McEwen of Winnipeg, a four-time Tour winner last year and John Epping of Toronto, winner of the 2006 Canadian Mixed.
Martin qualified as the defending Cup champion, Howard for winning last year's Brier, the balance from their standing on the 2011-12 CTRS.
For the first time in Canada Cup history, TSN will provide complete coverage of the Capital One Canada Cup, presented by Mosaic, from the Opening Draw on Wednesday, November 28 through the women's and men's finals on Sunday, December 2.
The seven men's and seven women's teams play a round robin, with the first place teams advancing to their respective finals, while the second and third place teams meet in semi-finals, after any required tiebreakers, to determine the other finalist.
The total prize money is $70,000 each for men and women, with the winning teams receiving $14,000. The runners-up gets $9,000 while the third place finishers earn $5,000. Teams also receive $2,000 for each round robin win.
In addition to berths into the 2013 Trials, the winners also earn invitations to the 2014 World Financial Group Continental Cup, at a site and date to be announced.