Roster for national women's soccer camp announced Staff

12/4/2012 12:04:59 PM

The Canadian women's national team announced the 27-player roster for an upcoming year-end training and assessment camp in Canada on Tuesday. The nine-day camp will be held later this month in the Vancouver area.

The camp will feature a mix of established players, returning players and youth players who will get their first call-up to a national "A" camp. Of note, the camp features 12 players from Canada's London 2012 bronze medal team.

"The camp will have our Olympians as well as some new players looking to stake a claim to be part of our four-year plan towards the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 and Rio 2016 Women's Olympic Football Tournament," said national head coach John Herdman. "The camp will provide baseline testing as well as serve as an identification camp as we launch our new quadrennial cycle in 2013."

Herdman did not call in players that competed at the elite or college level after the Olympics or players that are recovering from injury. For instance, Both Diana Matheson and Rhian Wilkinson, who won a Norwegian title with Lillestrøm SK Kvinner in November, will not take part in the December national camp.

Twelve of the 27 players were bronze-medal winners at the London 2012 Olympics while six others are returning national players that have previously competed in Canadian "A" camps. The six returning players are Tiffany Cameron, Alyssa Lagonia, Brooke McCalla, Bryanna McCarthy, Alyscha Mottershead, and Jodi-Ann Robinson.

"With a break given to our Olympic players that went straight into a pro or college season or that are presently recovering from injury, it has opened the door to identify new and past players from our national program," said Herdman.

Of the nine young players, five participated in this year's U-20 program while four participated in this year's U-17 program. Sabrina D'Angelo, Adriana Leon, Christabel Oduro, Jenna Richardson and Shelina Zadorsky all participated at the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Japan 2012 while Kadeisha Buchanan, Summer Clarke, Ashley Lawrence and Nichelle Prince all participated at the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Azerbaijan 2012.

Richardson, Zadorsky and the four U-17 players have all received their first-ever call ups to the national "A" team.