Blackhawks' Keith taking heat over comments to reporter Staff

4/23/2013 2:09:19 PM

Chicago Blackhawks veteran defenceman Duncan Keith is taking some heat over comments made to a reporter following Monday's 3-1 loss to the Vancouver Canucks.

In the post-game interview, Team 1040 reporter Karen Thomson asked Keith if a penalty went uncalled on a two-handed slash he gave to the back of Daniel Sedin on the Canucks' third goal of the contest.

"Oh, no. I don't think there was," Keith said when asked if a penalty went undetected. "I think he scored a nice goal, and that's what the ref saw. Maybe we should get you as a ref maybe, hey?"

Thomson responded with "Yeah, maybe. Can't skate though," to which Keith said, "First female referee - You can't probably play either, right? But you're thinking the game, like you know it? See ya."

Thomson released a statement on Tuesday saying she was moving on from the incident.

"Hockey is an emotional game and things are often said in the heat of the moment," she said. "I think this is what happened last night. I've moved on."

Keith and Daniel Sedin already have some on-ice history between them. The NHL suspended Keith five games last March for elbowing Sedin in a regular season game.