NBL's Power franchise moves from Oshawa to Mississauga

The Canadian Press

4/26/2013 6:46:44 PM

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. -- The Power has pulled up stakes and moved from Oshawa to Mississauga, Ont.

The National Basketball League of Canada franchise will play out of the Mississauga Hershey Centre as of the 2013-14 season after two years in Oshawa.

"It's a natural fit to now have the exciting sport of professional basketball here in our city," Mississauga Mayor Hazel McCallion said in a statement.

Besides Mississauga, the eight-team NBL, which had its inaugural season in 2011-12, has teams in London, Ont., Montreal, Windsor, Ont., Halifax, Moncton, Saint John, and Summerside, P.E.I.