Austin, Chamblin, Hufnagel up for CFL Coach of the Year Staff

1/20/2014 11:42:44 AM

The Canadian Football League announced on Monday that Hamilton's Kent Austin, Saskatchewan's Corey Chamblin, and Calgary's John Hufnagel are the finalists for the CFL Coach of the Year award.

Chamblin's Roughriders defeated Austin's Tiger-Cats in November to win the Grey Cup. Hufnagel's Stampeders were the best team in the regular season with a 14-4 record.

It's the first nomination for coach of the year for Chamblin. Austin won the award in 2007 while coach of the Roughriders and Hufnagel won it in 2008.

The winner will be announced on Feb. 5 in Ottawa at the league's annual Congress meeting.