CASCAR: Lapcevich wins Toronto event

CASCAR Release

7/10/2004 8:08:26 PM

TORONTO, ON - Jeff Lapcevich extended his streak of CASCAR Super Series road course wins to four on Saturday afternoon at the Toronto Indy. The Tim Hortons / Fastline Motorsports Chevy driver started on the pole and led every lap of the 36-lap race around the 11-turn temporary street circuit.

Lapcevich's first career CASCAR win came last year at the Toronto Indy. Since breaking through to victory lane in that race, the Caistor Centre, ON driver has been unbeatable in CASCAR's road course events, also winning last year's Vancouver Indy and the Mosport Int'l Raceway event earlier this season.

On the strength of his second victory of the season, Lapcevich moved to fourth in the overall Super Series point standings. Finishing second in Toronto was three-time and defending CASCAR National champion Don Thomson Jr. The Home Hardware Chevy driver started third and passed DJ Kennington during the first lap of the caution-less affair en route to the runner-up finish, almost five seconds back of Lapcevich. Kennington came home third in his Castrol Dodge for his best result of the season.

With the win, Lapcevich joins Robin Buck and Kevin Dowler as two-time winners of the Toronto Indy event. Their combined six wins at the Exhibition Place track account for all six checkered flags over the half-dozen years that CASCAR has been part of the Toronto Indy.

Current points leader Peter Gibbons started fourth but fell off the pace prior to pitting. Once back out on track, the Canadian Tire / Monroe Brakes Chevy driver recovered several positions to finish 10th in the 29-car field. Following the sixth race of the season, Gibbons leads Thomson in the points by just 20 points (938  918) as the series heads west for a pair of events, starting with the Vancouver Indy in two weeks. Dave Whitlock's Avenue / NMT Dodge is third in the points with 915 markers.

The top three in the points have a combined eight National championships between them. Thomson and Whitlock have three, while Gibbons has twice worn the National crown.