Summer Sports

I'll Have Another jogs around Belmont; gallops resume Friday

Associated Press
5/24/2012 2:29:33 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

NEW YORK -- Triple Crown hopeful I'll Have Another jogged around the 1 1/2-mile Belmont Park oval for a second day in a row and is scheduled to resume galloping on Friday.

The Kentucky Derby and Preakness winner will attempt to become the 12th Triple Crown winner in the Belmont Stakes on June 9.

The colt's assistant trainer Jack Sisterson said Thursday "he gets over the track fantastic, he looked super, his energy level is high and he's doing everything we want to see him doing."

Sisterson said I'll Have Another will pick up the pace with a gallop on Friday.

The last horse to sweep the Derby, Preakness and Belmont was Affirmed in 1978.

Also, Belmont contender Union Rags worked five furlongs on Thursday in 1:01 at Fair Hill, Md.

I'll Have Another (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)

Winning The First Two

Horses that won the first two legs since the last Triple Crown winner in 1978 (Belmont finish in parentheses):

  • 2008: Big Brown (DNF)
  • 2004: Smarty Jones (2nd)
  • 2003: Funny Cide (3rd)
  • 2002: War Emblem (8th)
  • 1999: Charismatic (3rd)
  • 1998: Real Quiet (2nd)
  • 1997: Silver Charm (2nd)
  • 1989: Sunday Silence (2nd)
  • 1987: Alysheba (4th)
  • 1981: Pleasant Colony (3rd)
  • 1979: Spectacular Bid (3rd)

Longest Triple Crown Droughts

    The longest Triple Crown droughts since the first winner in 1919 ended drought:

  • 34: 1978 -
  • 25: Secretariat (1948-1973)
  • 11: Gallant Fox (1919-1930)
  • 5: Omaha (1930-1935)
  • 4: Seattle Slew (1973-1977)
  • 4: Whirlway

Longest Odds

The longest odds given at the Kentucky Derby for a horse that won the first two legs of the Triple Crown (Belmont finish in parentheses):

  • 1999: Charismatic, 31-1 (3rd)
  • 2002: War Emblem, 20-1 (8th)
  • 1936: Bold Venture, 20-1 (DNS)
  • 2012: I'll Have Another, 15-1 (TBD)

First And Second

The Preakness marked the fifth time since the last Triple Crown winner in 1978 that the same two horses have finished first and second in the first two legs of the Triple Crown:

  • 2012: I'll Have Another, Bodemeister
  • 1999: Charismatic, Menifee
  • 1998: Real Quiet, Victory Gallop
  • 1989: Sunday Silence, Easy Goer
  • 1987: Alysheba, Bet Twice
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television