Summer Sports

Canadian Caldwell wins bronze at Santa Clara International

The Canadian Press
6/3/2012 12:39:27 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

SANTA CLARA, Calif. -- Hilary Caldwell of Surrey, B.C., who qualified this spring for her first Olympic team, won the bronze medal Saturday in the women's 200-metre backstroke at the Santa Clara International swimming competition.

Meagan Nay of Australia won the race in 2:08.04 with her compatriot Emily Seebohm second in 2:08.88 and the 21-year-old Caldwell third in 2:11.81. Julia Wilkinson of Stratford, Ont., was fifth.

Alec Page of Victoria, one of Canada's youngest Olympic swimming team nominees at 18, was sixth in the men's 400 IM and Matthew Swanston of Newmarket, Ont., eighth in the 200 backstroke.

Anthony Ervin, the 2000 Olympic champion making a comeback after 12 years, won the 50-metre freestyle, while Stephanie Rice of Australia took the 400 individual medley and Park Tae-hwan of South Korea won his fourth event.

Ervin touched in 22.35 seconds, followed by training partner William Copeland in 22.74. Takuro Fuji of Japan was third at 22.86.

Rice led all the way in winning the 400 IM in 4 minutes, 35.87 seconds. Caitlin Leverenz was second at 4:37.13 and 14-year-old Zhao Min of China was third at 4:40.67.

Park won his fourth event of the meet, taking the 200 freestyle in 1:46.88, with the Olympic silver medallist beating the field by nearly 2 seconds. Ryan Napoleon of Australia was second at 1:48.66 and Yuki Kobori of Japan was third at 1:49.36. Park earlier won titles in the 100, 400 and 800 freestyles.

Tyler Clary won two events on the third night of the season's final Grand Prix meet. He won the 400 IM in 4:15.02, with Yuya Horihata of Japan second at 4:16.27. Clary returned later to win the 200 backstroke in 1:57.09, while Kazuki Wantanabe of Japan was second at 1:59.56. Ashley Delaney of Australia took third at 2:00.14.

Yolane Kukla, a 16-year-old Aussie, won the 50 free in 24.97. Madison Kennedy was second at 25.05 and Aussie Libby Trickett took third in 25.22.

Aussie teammates Meagan Nay and Emily Seebohm went 1-2 in the 200 back. Nay touched first in 2:08.04 followed by Seebohm in 2:08.08.

Bronte Barratt of Australia lowered her own meet record in winning the 200 free in 1:57.17. Dana Vollmer was second at 1:57.25, and Hanae Ito of Japan was third in 1:58.05.

-- With files from The Associated Press.

Hilary Caldwell  (Photo:  Feng Li/Getty Images)


(Photo: Feng Li/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television