TSN hosts Australian Open, the season's first grand slam

{eot} Staff
1/10/2013 4:30:08 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

TSN kicks off its exclusive Canadian coverage of Grand Slam tennis with the 2013 Australian Open. Live coverage begins Sunday at 6:30 p.m. ET on TSN2 with eight-and-a-half consecutive hours of Early Round Coverage. In total, TSN and TSN2 deliver more than 110 hours of action from the first round through to the finals. The networks' coverage includes encore broadcasts of late-night matches during the daytime.  Along with the Australian Open, TSN is home to every Grand Slam - the French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open.

Action from the Australian Open is also available across TSN Digital platforms. will live stream multi-court coverage of select matches each day throughout the tournament, while TSN Mobile TV will have live coverage from Melbourne.

French-language coverage of the Australian Open is available on RDS and RDS2.

Fans can follow Milos Raonic at the Australian Open on TSN and TSN2. Canada's Sports Leader will broadcast every match featuring Raonic on a televised court, while and SportsCentre will keep fans updated on all the news surrounding the Thornhill, ON-native as he competes down under. Raonic (No. 14 seed) enters his third Australian Open following a third round performance in 2012 and a surprise run in 2011 that saw him advance to the fourth round as a qualifier.

Top-seeded Novak Djokovic competes for his third straight Australian Open title following last year's epic final, which saw him defeat Rafael Nadal in the longest Grand Slam men's singles final in history. The star-studded men's field also includes four-time Australian Open winner Roger Federer (No. 2 seed) and London 2012 Olympic Games gold medallist Andy Murray (No. 3 seed). Nadal will not compete in Melbourne due to illness and injury.

Last year's Australian Open marked Victoria Azarenka's first Grand Slam title and she returns as the top seed on the women's side. Azarenka's competition includes Maria Sharapova (No. 2 seed), who completed a career Grand Slam at last year's French Open; five-time Australian Open champion Serena Williams (No. 3 seed), who is coming off a season that included victories at Wimbledon and the US Open; and Agnieszka Radwanska (No. 4 seed), who is currently on an eight-match winning streak.

The 2013 Australian Open men's and women's singles champion will each take home AUD$2,430,000 - the biggest prize money purse in the history of the sport


Milos Raonic (Photo: Robert Prezioso/Getty Images)


(Photo: Robert Prezioso/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television