Sharks acquire Winnik, Galiardi and seventh-round pick

{eot} Staff
2/27/2012 3:15:21 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

The San Jose Sharks have acquired forwards Daniel Winnik and T.J. Galiardi, as well as a seventh-round draft pick in 2013 from the Colorado Avalanche in exchange for forward Jamie McGinn and prospects Mike Connolly and Michael Sgarbossa.

The 26-year-old Winnik has five goals and 13 assists in 63 games with the Avs this season.

In 345 career NHL games with the Avalanche and Phoenix Coyotes, Winnik has scored 34 goals and 62 assists, adding 177 penalty minutes. He was originally selected in the ninth round (265th overall) by Phoenix at the 2004 NHL Entry Draft.

Winnik is in the final year of a two-year deal he signed with Colorado in 2010 that is worth an average annual value of $950,000. He will be an unrestricted free agent after the 2011-12 season.

Galiardi, 23, has eight goals and six assists through 55 games this season. The Calgary native was drafted in the second round (55th overall) of the 2007 NHL Entry Draft.

McGinn, 23, has 12 goals and 12 assists in his first full NHL season. He was drafted by the Sharks in the second round (36th overall) of the 2006 Entry Draft. 

Connolly, 22, has 10 goals and 20 assists in his first AHL season with the Worcester Sharks. The forward spent three years at the University of Minnesota-Duluth.

Sgarbossa, 19, is a centre with the OHL's Sudbury Wolves. In 57 games, he has 41 goals and 43 assists.

Daniel Winnik, T.J. Galiardi (Photo: Getty Images)


(Photo: Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

All The Moves

Martin St. Louis is a Ranger, Matt Moulson is a member of the Minnesota Wild and the Montreal Canadiens have Thomas Vanek. Look back at all the big name deals that went down.

Complete Trade List

Photo Gallery: Behind the scenes at TradeCentre

Download the TSN Hockey App

Join the conversation on Twitter with #tradecentre

TSN TweetBox
© 2014
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television