OTTAWA — Lorie Kane will tee off for the final time at the CP Women’s Open when the lone Canadian stop on the LPGA Tour visits Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club later this month.

Kane, a four-time winner on the Tour and member of both the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame and the Canada Sports Hall of Fame, headlined the list of 14 players, including 11 Canadians, that earned exemptions into the event, which begins Aug. 22.

Kane said earlier this year that her 30th career appearance at the tournament will be her last. The 57-year-old from Charlottetown made her debut at Canada's women's golf championship in 1991 and holds the record for most all-time appearances at the event.

Joining Kane in Ottawa will be LPGA Tour veteran Alena Sharp. The Hamilton native will be making her 17th appearance at the event. She posted a career-best fourth-place finish in 2016.

Epson Tour members Rebecca Lee-Bentham of Toronto Megan Osland of Kelowna, B.C. Maddie Szeryk of London, Ont., and Selena Costabile of Thornhill, Ont. are also among the players earning exemptions.

The players announced Thursday join a field that includes 2018 champion Brooke Henderson of Smiths Falls, Ont., and defending champion and current world no. 1 Jin Young Ko.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Aug. 11, 2022.