Skip to main content


How to watch the FIFA World Cup and other FAQs

Canadian soccer star Alphonso Davies to donate World Cup earnings to charity Article Image 0 Canadian soccer star Alphonso Davies to donate World Cup earnings to charity Article Image 0 - The Canadian Press

The 2022 FIFA World Cup gets underway from Qatar on Nov. 20 on TSN, with Team Canada making their long-awaited return to the event after 36 years.

The 22nd quadrennial tournament opens with a match between Qatar and Ecuador runs until Dec. 18. It will be the first time the World Cup has taken place in the Middle East and the second World Cup held entirely in Asia -the first was the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan.

Though the tournament traditionally takes place during the summer, the intense heat of Qatar at that time of year produced another tournament first: an autumn World Cup. 

Where can viewers watch the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup can be watched across the TSN Network and streamed on or the TSN App.

2022 FIFA World Cup Broadcast schedule 

As well every single game will be streamed live in the Native language of the team's participating.  Check out TSN's Digital bonus streaming schedule for more details.


Who won the 2018 FIFA World Cup? 

France defeated Croatia 4-2 to win their second World Cup title at the 2018 FIFA World Cup. 

The 2018 World Cup was held in Eastern Europe for the first time in Russia from June 14 through July 15, 2018. The hosting cities were Moscow, Saint Petersburg, and Sochi - which previously hosted the 2014 Olympics. 

The French squad advanced to the knockout stage after defeating Australia and Peru and playing Denmark to a draw in group play.

France later defeated Argentina, Uruguay and Belgium in the knockout stage before downing Croatia in the tournament final with goals from France's Mario Mandzukic, Antoine Griezmann, Paul Pogba, and Kylian Mbappe.  

English striker Harry Kane earned The Golden Boot (top scorer) for his six goals. Croatia's Luka Modrić was presented with The Golden Ball (best player). Thibaut Courtois from Belgium was presented with The Golden Glove (best goalkeeper), and Paris Saint-Germain superstar Mbappe earned the FIFA Young Players Award. 

The Spanish squad was honoured with the FIFA Fair Play Trophy. 


When is the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will start on Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022, with the FIFA World Cup Trophy awarded to the tournament winner on Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022, at Lusail Stadium. 


Where will the 2022 FIFA World Cup be held?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is being held in the Middle-Eastern country of Qatar. 

There were five final bids from prospective hosting counties: Australia, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, and the United States. After much deliberation, Australia, Japan and South Korea were all eliminated. This left the final vote between the United States and Qatar. 

The 2022 World Cup was awarded to Qatar as the committee voted in favour of them 14-8. 

The United States, Canada and Mexico were awarded the 2026 FIFA World Cup, which will see the number of nations represented increase from 32 to 48.


Which countries are competing in the 2022 FIFA World Cup? 

The 32 countries participating in the tournament have been divided into eight groups, with Team Canada drawing the star-studded Group F, which features Belgium, Morocco and Croatia. 

Group A Group B Group C Group D Group E Group F Group G Group F
Qatar (H) England Argentina France Spain Belgium    Brazil  Portugal
Ecuador Iran Saudi Arabia Australia   Costa Rica Canada   Serbia   Ghana 
Senegal United States Mexico Denmark  Germany Morocco   Switzerland   Uruguay  
Netherlands Wales Poland Tunisia  Japan Croatia   Cameroon   South Korea 


When does Canada play in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

Canada returns to the World Cup for the first since 1986. The tournament will begin with each team participating in a three-game round-robin. The two teams with the best records in each group advance to the knockout stage. 

Tuesday, Nov. 23: Belgium vs. Canada at 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 p.m. PT

Sunday, Nov. 27: Croatia vs. Canada at 11:00 a.m. ET/8:00 a.m. PT

Thursday, Dec. 1: Canada vs. Morocco at 10:00 a.m. ET/7:00 a.m. PT

The full 2022 FIFA World Cup schedule can be found HERE.



What are the current betting odds on who will win the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

FanDuel lists Brazil as the favourites to win the tournament at +430 followed by the defending-champion French squad at +550. Argentina and England are both listed at +700, with Team Canada listed at +25000 to win the tournament. The full list can be viewed HERE.


2022 FIFA World Cup Event Information:

More information about the 2022 FIFA World Cup and events surrounding the tournament can be found HERE.


More 2022 FIFA World Cup Coverage:

For more coverage of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, check TSN’s World Cup hub