Columnist image

TSN Senior Reporter

| Archive

Every time you think you’ve heard every last entry in the Rules of Golf, another one rises to the occasion.

Such was the case on Friday at the Presidents Cup in South Korea where Phil Mickelson and Zach Johnson were assessed a one-hole match-adjustment penalty after Lefty switched balls, a violation of the one-ball rule that was in effect. It led to the Internationals earning two points on one hole – something no one seemed to know was possible.

The one-ball rule itself is not that uncommon. It essentially means you must use the same type of ball for all 18 holes. You can’t pull out the distance ball for the long holes where you want extra carry and the spin ball for the par 3s where you want it to stop.

That’s what Mickelson was doing in hopes of getting home in two on the par-5 seventh. For some reason, the possibility of such a rule never came up in his mind.

“Didn't really think much about it,” explained Mickelson, “We've never had a one-ball rule that I can think of in these events, or at least that I was aware of. But it's never been an issue, either.

“But I was walking down the fairway and I was talking with Jay, and I just thought, ‘Gosh, I'm going to ask. I'm sure it's not an issue. But hey, by the way, I hit a ball - I hit a different ball here.’ And it turns out that there was a one-ball rule and it was an issue.”

That in itself wasn’t too problematic. Mickelson advised the rules official and after some consultation, was told he was out of the hole; Johnson would have to take on their opponents, Jason Day and Adam Scott, by himself.

The Americans lost the hole but were then assessed the additional penalty and went from1-up to 1-down.

“The weird thing was I've never heard of a match adjustment penalty,” said Mickelson, probably echoing the same though of every golfer, everywhere. “Never heard of that. I just thought, ‘Okay, well if I hit the wrong ball, no big deal. Zach will cover me this hole. I pick up, put the right ball in play the next hole.’ But obviously that was not what happened.”

The players weren’t the only ones mystified at the ruling. So too were the guys who were making the call, who erred in the application.

Mickelson didn’t have to stop playing as he was told. He could have continued and played a part in possibly winning that hole. Instead he was a bystander.

“After brief discussion, the committee advised the walking referee incorrectly that Phil was disqualified from the hole,” said Mark Russell, the head official and a veteran of the PGA Tour. “Thus, Phil picked up his ball after his tee shot and did not complete the 7th hole. Under the rules, he could have continued play on the 7th hole.

“I accept total responsibility for that mistake.”

Also flummoxed by the decision where the Internationals, who had no idea such a rule was in the book.

“Well, I mean, it's obviously a rule I'm not familiar with and not many people are,” stated Scott. “I didn't realize you could lose two holes in one. There you go. You can apparently. That was that. Nothing much I can say about it.”

Aside from the crazy ruling, the match was highly entertaining with Mickelson holing a long shot from the fairway bunker and then Day dropping a putt on the final hole to earn a half point for the Internationals.

But it’s clear the two-point power play given to Day and Scott is what will be remembered from the round.