It's seventh heaven for Lionel Messi.

The Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain forward won his seventh Ballon d'Or on Monday.

Poland and Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski finished as runner-up, while Italy and Chelsea midfielder Jorginho finished third.

On the women's side, Spain and Barcelona midfielder Alexia Putellas won her first award.

Chelsea was named the Team of the Year.

More to come.

The Ballon d'Or is handed out annually by France Football.