The National Hockey League has designated a list of injured players who will be exempt from the upcoming expansion selection for the Vegas Golden Knights. 

In a memo sent out to all 31 teams on Tuesday, the NHL - in agreement with the NHL Players' Association - says the players cannot be used to meet the minimum criteria for their protected lists nor are they forced to use a protected list spot on them.

The players include forwards David Bolland and Craig Cunningham and defenceman Chris Pronger of the Arizona Coyotes, Buffalo Sabres forward Cody McCormick, winger David Clarkson of the Columbus Blue Jackets, winger Johan Franzen and centre Joe Vitale of the Detroit Red Wings, New Jersey Devils winger Ryane Clowe, New York Islanders centre Mikhail Grabovski, Pascal Dupuis of the Pittsburgh Penguins, and winger Nathan Horton and blueliner Stephane Robidas of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Under the expansion selection rules, each of the 30 NHL teams will lose exactly one player to the Vegas Golden Knights. Those teams are required to submit a list of protected players on June 18 and may choose to protect seven forwards, three defencemen and one goaltender, or eight skaters and one goaltender. First- and second-year pro players are exempt.

The Golden Knights will then submit their player list and the announcement of their selections will be made on June 21 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.