The Panel: Controversial overtime winner leaves Blues deservedly outraged
The St. Louis Blues were burned by a costly no-call in Game 3 when a hand pass by San Jose Sharks forward Timo Meier set up Erik Karlsson for the game-winning goal in overtime.
The hand pass by Meier, which should have blown the play dead when touched by a Sharks player, went unnoticed by the officials, allowing Gustav Nyquist to feed Karlsson for the game-winner.
"Well yeah it was a hand pass, but we're going to try and move forward and the league is going to take care of it like they've done so far in the playoffs," Blues forward David Perron said post-game. "It's unacceptable but it's okay."
Wednesday's goal marked the second time this postseason that the Sharks benefited from a controversial incident involving the officials. The Sharks received a five-minute power play in Game 7 of their first-round series against the Vegas Golden Knights, allowing them to erase a 3-0 deficit in the third period after a seemingly innocent hit by Cody Eakin.
“I really didn’t get an explanation other than I guess there’s a different set of rules for two different teams, so I’m sure they’ll lose some sleep tonight after looking at it," Blues captain Alex Pietrangelo said. "But that's all I'm going to say about it."
"No explanation [from the officials]," Blues head coach Craig Berube added. "What do you guys think? There's no reason to ask me. I have nothing to say about it."
NHL officiating supervisor Kay Whitmore said post-game the on-ice officials could not review the play after the hand pass when uncalled.
"It's a non-reviewable play," Whitmore told a pool reporter, per the Canadian Press. "You can read between the lines. You can figure out what you want. You watched the video. But it's just non-reviewable. I know that sounds like a cop-out answer, but that's the truth."
The Sharks now own a 2-1 lead in the best-of-seven series with Game 4 taking place Friday in St. Louis.